+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
-
20th September 2012, 09:45 AM #1Notebook Evangelist
- Join Date
- Dec 2007
- Posts
- 319
- Rep Power
- 15
Hotmail.com URL ... by167w.bay167.mail.live.com?
Not the right place to post I'm sure, but I figured someone here would know. The other day I realized that the URL for my Hotmail website (after I log in) shows up as what is in the subject line above. Doing a google search seemed to imply it could be Phishing scam (which is what a couple Google Searches implied). So of course I changed my password, etc. But kept getting it.
I just had a work colleague of mine login to hotmail on her computer, and her URL was sn129w.snt129.mail.live.com.
Is this just some sort of URL naming schema used by Hotmail/Windows because of the number of servers required to run Hotmail?
ThxAcer 5920G - Core 2 T5250, Seagate 7200.4 500gb, 8600M GT, 4 GB DDR2
Acer 3820T - Core i3-350, Seagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid, Intel HD Graphics, 8GB DDR3
-
20th September 2012, 09:47 AM #2Notebook Evangelist
- Join Date
- Dec 2007
- Posts
- 319
- Rep Power
- 15
Re: Hotmail.com URL ... by167w.bay167.mail.live.com?
... and I think I found the answer searching her URL in Google ...
How to determine which Hotmail server you are on? - Microsoft Answers
So I guess all is good! Wonder why I just never noticed the strange URL before!!Acer 5920G - Core 2 T5250, Seagate 7200.4 500gb, 8600M GT, 4 GB DDR2
Acer 3820T - Core i3-350, Seagate Momentus XT 500GB Hybrid, Intel HD Graphics, 8GB DDR3
-
20th September 2012, 11:04 AM #3Notebook Evangelist
- Join Date
- Jan 2010
- Posts
- 398
- Rep Power
- 10
Re: Hotmail.com URL ... by167w.bay167.mail.live.com?
Well, was it a valid hotmail web address?



LinkBack URL




Reply With Quote

I`m upgrading, are you? (GTX 780M...
Today, 09:41 PM in Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)