Quantcast Laptop for Photo, Video Editing

+ Reply to Thread

Default Laptop for Photo, Video Editing

Hi there. I am looking for a laptop with a 15+ touchscreen that can fluidly handle photo and video editing. I am a photographer and will be loading many photos from a Canon Rebel onto the laptop and editing with photoshop, also viewing HD video. It is very, very important to me that the screen is top-notch, high-resolution, vivid colors.

You can disregard price in your suggestion...however, if you could also give a suggestion for a laptop that meets these parameters as best as possible around $1000, that would also be great, since that is probably more realistically my budget.

Also, what are your thoughts on getting a PC vs an Apple? Never had an Apple before.

Thank you so much for your help!

Austin

Just this guy, you know?

Default Re: Laptop for Photo, Video Editing

Is touchscreen a dealbreaker? You'll have far more options if you drop that requirement, and they'll generally cost less.

I would suggest the 15" HP Envy Spectre XT as a starting-point for your shopping. It's a great machine if you can disregard that it's way overpriced and needs a RAM upgrade and SSD. The other problem is that it's disappeared from HP's site and is out of stock at Amazon so its future availability is in question.
    "Manny Calavera" (Now my wife's) - Envy 14 - i5-450m, 5650M, 8GB DDR3, 160GB Intel X-25M SSD, Win 7 HP x64, Radiance Display, Slice Battery
    "Grim Fandango" - Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro - Silver - i5-4200UM - 8GB DDR3, 256GB SSD, Win 8.1, 3200x1800
    Desktop - i5-3450, MSI Radeon HD7850 Hawk, 8 GB Kingston HyperX Blue, 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 2TB WD Caviar Green HDD, CoolerMaster Elite 120 ITX case, AsRock H77M-ITX, CoolerMaster Silent M2 420W, Samsung Blu-Ray reader

Notebook Consultant