Quantcast Too good to be true?

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Too good to be true?

    ASUS G75VW-TS72 2.30-3.30GHz i7-3610QM 16GB 750GB Blu-Ray 3GB NV [ASUS G75VW-TS72] - $758.00 : Mall-Red , Electronics, Fashion, Sporting Goods, Coupons and More Online Shopping

    Is this offer too good to be true? An ASUS G75 at that price sounds a bit like a scam. Also, I've never heard about that retailer before, not to mention the fact that they don't have a phone number. I'm afraid that the whole website is just some scam to steal my credit card number or not deliver a product as advertised.

    If anyone has experience with Mall-Red, please let me know ASAP.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,715
    Rep Power
    12

    Default Re: Too good to be true?

    If it's too good to be true, it is
    MacBook 5.1 - ASUS N43SM
    9400m MAC OC | GPU quality test | Full sig | Steam | BF3 | Nvidia 6xx MASTER OC guide | Petition for Ace Combat HD collection | Fix BF3 no packet flow

    When history witnesses a great change, Razgriz reveals its self, first as a dark demon. As a demon, it uses its power to rain death upon the land, and then it dies. However, after a period of slumber, Razgriz returns, this time as a great hero.

  3. #3
    loves cannons
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florence, SC
    Posts
    6,741
    Rep Power
    35

    Default Re: Too good to be true?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobius 1 View Post
    If it's too good to be true, it is
    QFT. It's probably a scam; OP hit the nail on the head.

    Mall-Red.com is relatively new (made on Feb. 2012) by some group called "HUJINDIANZHEN JINYIJIE No.46", and the people who run it used hotmail accounts to register the site (not very professional).

    WHOIS information





    Thinkpad W520 ~Strigon~ Thinkpad X61t ~Aquila~ DIY Desktop ~Garuda~
    privatejarhead -> Kuroi-Tsubasa -> Jarhead
    Extended Signature

  4. #4
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    3

    Default Re: Too good to be true?

    Maybe not. It's basically a refurbished model ("new open box").

  5. #5
    Notebook Guru
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    58
    Rep Power
    3

    Default Re: Too good to be true?

    Quote Originally Posted by burghblast View Post
    Maybe not. It's basically a refurbished model ("new open box").
    C'mon, the logo is in Comic Sans!!! Let's be reasonable here...

  6. #6
    loves cannons
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florence, SC
    Posts
    6,741
    Rep Power
    35

    Default Re: Too good to be true?

    Quote Originally Posted by burghblast View Post
    Maybe not. It's basically a refurbished model ("new open box").
    That's not a legit company though. In all likelihood, it's a CC stealin' machine.

    Besides, if one wants to buy a refurbished computer, why not go to a well-established retailer? Same prices, give or take...





    Thinkpad W520 ~Strigon~ Thinkpad X61t ~Aquila~ DIY Desktop ~Garuda~
    privatejarhead -> Kuroi-Tsubasa -> Jarhead
    Extended Signature

  7. #7
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    25
    Rep Power
    8

  8. #8
    Notebook Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    3

    Default Re: Too good to be true?

    Scammers need to start being more original. I've seen that exact site layout on at least 5 different scam sites.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0