Quantcast Which laptop to buy for complete beginner?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Which laptop to buy for complete beginner?

I've had the same desktop for 8 years now. It is not only painfully slow, its starting to die a painful death. The cd burner stopped working and now my internet won't work (hubbies laptop works just fine on wifi or connected so its not the internet provider or router). I've decided to bite the bullet and get a laptop to replace it but I seriously have no idea what I"m doing. I'd prefer to buy from BestBuy... more experience with them I guess... but I'm lost. They've recommended the HP Pavilion DV6-3268 for 699.99 (quad core, 1.8 ghz, 2MB L2 cache, 15.6 monitor). I found an HP Pavilion DV7-4223 for 699.99 at Costco (triple core, 2.3 ghz, 1.5MB L2 cache, 17.3 monitor). I'm thinking the Costco one is a better deal but there are a lot of differences in the core, processor speed and cache that I just don't get. While we don't need the larger monitor as I'd be using an exernal monitor most of the time, it'd be nice to have if its the same price. Which is the better system and why? Is there another you'd recommend instead?

Here's teh form:

General Questions

1) What is your budget? less than $1000
    2) What size notebook would you prefer? prefer 17in but 15in would suffice because using an external 23in monitor that was just purchased at Christmas
    a. Netbook; 10” screen or less
    b. Ultraportable; 11" - 12” screen
    c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen
    d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen
    e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like:
    b. Dislike:

HP was recommended by BestBuy but I'm open to any reliable brand

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? No