Quantcast Need a good laptop that won't overheat!

Closed Thread

Us Need a good laptop that won't overheat!

A little about myself--I'm a PhD mathematics student, and will be using my computer for both work and entertainment purposes.

I have had the worst luck with computers overheating in the past. The computer I'm using right now is an Asus G1P, a capable machine at one point, but it has been almost crippled for the past several months by overheating problems. My CPU frequently reaches temperatures of 210+ F just from surfing the internet!! I'm afraid it's going to melt any day now, and I would like to get a new computer ASAP so I can save the contents of my hard drives.

Anyway, I've been out of the notebook market for about two years so I don't know much about the new ones, though my general level of computer experience is fairly high. I did help my mom purchase a new notebook a couple months ago, a Lenovo G530, and she is very happy with it, but that's the limit of my recent research.

I want a computer that can multitask, play videos with large amounts of internet tabs open (I often have 20+ tabs open in Firefox), play music, watch DVDs, read e-books (I often have several open at once), etc. I play games occasionally but if a dedicated graphics card is going to make the computer run hotter I'd probably rather just forget about it. Light weight is good, somewhat portable, okay battery life, though most of the time I will have a power source nearby so this isn't a big issue.

For operating system, I don't like Vista, but it seems they're all using Vista these days so I guess I'll deal with it. Also, a good keyboard is a must! Now, onto the form

START COPY
    ==========

General Questions

1) What is your budget?

No set budget, but I'd like to spend somewhere from $500 - $1000 if possible, maybe more if I fall in love.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

a. Netbook; 10 screen or less
    b. Ultraportable; 11" - 12 screen