Quantcast Which laptop for streaming video?

Closed Thread
    Notebook Enthusiast

Us Which laptop for streaming video?

I want a laptop for streaming video from the internet. I am doing this to get rid of my cable.
    I may use it for web browsing, but the main function is for viewing television.

Also, what connections would I need for analog televisions.

The reason that I want a laptop instead of a desktop is so that I can move it around to different rooms. I don't want to be stuck in my living room.

If you have any information regarding tv tuners, or local channels via an antenna that would be appreciated also. I am a newbie to watching television on the internet, but it drives me crazy to pay the cable company $67 a month, especially when I only watch maybe 20 channels out of 250. Of course the cheaper packages don't have the 20 channels that I watch.

Banned

Default Re: Which laptop for streaming video?

please fill out an FAQ and give a budget and you will probably have to buy an external tv tuner when you get your laptop

NBR Transmogrifier

Default Re: Which laptop for streaming video?

Almost any laptop will be able to handle streaming video just fine. I would simply recommend something with a decent screen. You would probably be best served by a WXGA (1280x800 or 1366x768) glossy screen of ≈15 inches. Integrated graphics will also be fine as long as you don't game.

For hooking up to a TV you should look for the following ports. S-Video (common on most TVs made after 1995), provides decent quality (can also convert to RCA (Yellow prong) with a simple adapter). VGA (common on many LCD and Plasma TVs), almost all laptops have this. HDMI (found on all newer TVs), digital connection, provides HD video and audio on a single cable. HDMI carries audio, but for VGA and S-Video you will also need an 1/8" (headphone) to RCA (White/Red) converter cable.