zx5000

Discussion in 'HP' started by tatteredbackpack, Mar 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tatteredbackpack

tatteredbackpack Newbie

Reputations:
    I have two issues to discuss.

I've been debating switching over from my Dell Inspiron to the HP ZD7000. But, after seeing the ZX5000 on HP's website, I think that one is more for me. However, the ZD7000 has been getting great reviews (editor's choice form several magazines), but I'm finding nothing at all about the ZX5000. But, after comparing the two systems, they seem to be identical except for screen size and that the larger unit has more movie editing goodies (which I don't need.) I'm a professional webmaster who lives/traves in many countries and requires a serious computer with excellent viewing and power. So, I'm seeking some reassurance on the ZX5000. A positive review on the ZX5000 from a computer magazine would be helpful.

As for my issue with Dell, I'd stick with them if they would only make their laptops more sturdy (my Inspiron 4000 screen mounts have snapped off twice, and the USB port on the back was anchored to the motherboard only and not the casing, which broke off within months.) Their new Inspiron 9100 looks like the computer I'm looking for (they got great reviews too), but I'm afraid that they may not have effectively delt with their screen mount/hing and USB port issues. Could anyone shed some light on these matters?

2. ettlz

ettlz Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi,

I've never seen a review in any magazines for a zx5000, but I have a zx5030EA (from the same series, obviously), so I could tell you my experiences.

OVERVIEW. Weighs in at 3.5kg, 15.4" screen. Not a small portable; makes my arm ache carrying it around.

CORE. The model I have is a Pentium 4 2.8GHz w/ 512Mb RAM and ATi Mobility Radeon w/ 64 Mb dedicated RAM. The screen is 1280x800 (8:5 wide aspect), and UT2003 appears to play quite well at this resolution.