XPS M1210 lock ups

Discussion in 'Dell' started by afireinside, Jan 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. afireinside

    afireinside Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Had my M1210 for about 9 months (bought it refurb from the outlet) and the the past few it's been freezing up randomly in windows. At first it was a freak freeze than it happened again. and again. and again. Now it happens 2-3 times a week. I thought it might be the 0.95v I was running so I disabled the voltage control and uninstalled NBHC. Happened again today (2 days afterwards). Temps aren't out of whack or anything. What gives? Mobo crapping out? :mad:

    I run 2gb of crucial ram now but the freezes also happened with the stock 1gb promos. Running vista 32 bit SP1 fully updated.
     
  2. vengance_01

    vengance_01 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Check the fitness level of the HD?
     
  3. afireinside

    afireinside Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What's the "fitness level" of a hdd?
     
  4. Khris

    Khris Yes I am better than you!

    Reputations:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I've been having a similar problem with my m1210. It would freeze up on every boot and would need to be reset in order to get to Windows.

    I've replaced the Motherboard, CPU, Heatpipe, Fan, and Hard Drive but the problem persists. I'm now waiting to hear back from Dell to replace the entire system.
     
  5. vengance_01

    vengance_01 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Overall status. If your Fitness level is low, it could be the HD going bad. Use a program called HD Tune. Tell you temps and Fitness level.
     
  6. afireinside

    afireinside Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I'm not seeing a "fitness level" anywhere but the drive idles a nice cool 36c and everything is "OK" under health status.
     
  7. vengance_01

    vengance_01 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Ok then its probably not the hard drive. May want to try a fresh copy of windows. Windows can become corrupt overtime.
     
  8. Khris

    Khris Yes I am better than you!

    Reputations:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    A fresh copy of Windows didn't help me either......forgot to mention that! :)
     
  9. afireinside

    afireinside Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I HIGHLY doubt it's windows. I've corrupted my fair share of OS installs before.
     
  10. Khris

    Khris Yes I am better than you!

    Reputations:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Yeah I knew it wasn't my Windows install that was screwed up, but to humour the tech I was dealing with, I did a fresh install.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. SoundsGood
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    1,734
  2. carfan87
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,443
  3. Switchfoot
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    844
  4. Alvito
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    2,547
  5. Lord Farkward
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    792
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page