XPS 15 9570 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by el3ctronics, May 16, 2018.

  1. DaBears92

    DaBears92 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The version I'm looking at is only available with the 1TB, or for $343 I can upgrade to the 2TB.

    Sent from my G8141 using Tapatalk
     
  2. custom90gt

    custom90gt Doc Mod Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,272
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3,521
    Trophy Points:
    331
    If you're not getting an i9 (I sure as heck wouldn't) then it would be cheaper to get the cheapest one with the screen you want and upgrade the ram/drive yourself. But I realize that's not for everyone.

    If you are getting the i9, you should see my thread on throttling before you do. Spoiler alert, your i9 won't run faster than my i7 at demanding tasks due to power limit throttling followed closely by thermal throttling if you're not willing to repaste/undervolt.
     
  3. pkincy

    pkincy Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    130
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I can find nothing about Bitlocker in my manual but the OS drive appears to have a bitlocker partition. I have Win 10 Home which I also thought did not support bitlocker. I am a bit puzzled. Anyone know the facts?
     
  4. vCanalla

    vCanalla Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am getting some really bad power drain in sleep mode when the lid is closed and the shell is slightly warm to the touch (as if it's been on).
    only
    What can I do to troubleshoot this? I didn't have this problem until recently. The odd thing is event viewer shows only two kernal power events: when I closed the lid and when I opened.

    But, within 2 hours, I've drained about 13%. This is what I see:

    The system is entering connected standby
    Reason: Lid.

    The system is exiting connected standby
    Reason: Lid.

    But, between those 2 periods, I see application doing work, such as this:

    Connection to Microsoft Exchange has been restored.

    svchost (3832,G,98) The beta feature EseDiskFlushConsistency is enabled in ESENT due to the beta site mode settings 0x800000.


    Why are thing during work during sleep? I did set up outlook recently and wondering if it's that

    EDIT:

    this is all my battery report says

    08:03:15 Connected standby Battery 100 % 87,438 mWh
    08:03:24 Active Battery 100 % 87,438 mWh
    08:15:19 Connected standby Battery 98 % 86,081 mWh
    10:56:43 Active Battery 87 % 75,856 mWh
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  5. pressing

    pressing Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    262
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    871
    Trophy Points:
    131
    The XPS sleep has been a bit wonky and you will see a few people had thermal events leaving the 9550 or 9560 in their backpacks.

    So I just don't use the sleep mode
     
  6. Fatmatt5

    Fatmatt5 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    @Eason in your ultrabookreview.com review you mention switching to AHCI when you swapped the SSD. Is that something that windows 10 can detect automatically upon installation of an SSD that operates better in AHCI, or does it just need to be changed in bios? Anything else involved with that switch?
     
  7. vCanalla

    vCanalla Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What I've done is I've forced S3 sleep in the bios. Will report back.
     
  8. Eason

    Eason Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    256
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    883
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Connected standby is just a piece of **** and I suggest turning it off in BIOS. I noticed black screen flashes after doing this and I didn't feel like troubleshooting, so I turned it back on -- but it might have been just me.

    any SSD operates better in AHCI here because you aren't using RAID. AHCI allows the usage of specific drivers for your SSD brand. You need to schedule your laptop to reboot into safe mode before changing from RAID to AHCI, however; otherwise it will not install the necessary drivers and will BSOD at boot.
     
  9. NMS

    NMS Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Can 9570 drive external 4K@60Hz display with iGPU? Or it will automatically switch to dGPU?
     
  10. spliffstar

    spliffstar Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    question to you im thinking of getting the i9 but in your post, I don't see any mention as to why the i9 won't yield better performance than an i7
     
Loading...

Share This Page