x61, x61s, How many RAM slots

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by tinman1412, Jun 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tinman1412

    tinman1412 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Can someone please confirm this. Do all the x61 and x61s models support up to 4GB of RAM. I'm assuming it has 2 RAM slots. If so, would you consider putting 2 2GB sticks of ram into it?.

    Thanks
     
  2. someone777

    someone777 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i know that all (or most) of 17inch can support 4gb and maybe some recent comps.. i dunno ...
     
  3. orangelounge

    orangelounge Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    67
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I believe the X-series have two (2) ram slots.
     
  4. sp00n

    sp00n Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    512
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    The X61s' customization page allows you to upgrade to 4GB of RAM, which means it will support 4GB.
     
  5. isagg

    isagg Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    2 ram slots. So the max ram supported is 4g
     
  6. tetete

    tetete Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    max ram you can put on ur mechine is 4GB 2x2gb

    but 32 bit windows, no matter xp or vista, will only make use of 3GB
     
  7. tinman1412

    tinman1412 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    The new x61 and x61s should have the santa rosa chip right?. Why would it not support 4gb?
     
  8. sapibobo

    sapibobo Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    No, he means the OS. 32 bit OS cannot utilize more than 3-3,5GB of RAM.
     
  9. jg70124

    jg70124 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So, I ordered an X61s with Windows XP and 4GB of RAM ($220 more than 3GB).

    Received it today. Turns out XP only recognizes 3GB.

    I called the Lenovo sales line, and they gave me a link to a Microsoft KB article that said XP will recognize the extra 1GB only if there's a /PAE switch in the Boot.ini. But when I added it, the power manager no longer worked - and the system still only recognized 3GB.

    I found no other answer on Microsoft's support site or on the Internet in general, and I'm thinking to call them up for an RMA to get my $220 back.

    But before I do that - does anyone here no for sure that XP will or will/not use that extra RAM? Or do I have to switch to Vista?
     
  10. panteedropper

    panteedropper Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    97
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    you can use the extra gig with XP only if you get the 64 bit version of it.
     
Similar Threads: x61s many
Forum Title Date
Lenovo X61S SSD Installation & ISO help Feb 23, 2015
Lenovo Microphone, microphone connector (problem?) on X61s May 15, 2014
Lenovo Windows 7 can't see Bluetooth on X61s Sep 8, 2013
Lenovo Used ThinkPad x61s: Things to look out for May 9, 2012
Lenovo X61s battery dilemma, powder-like residue [long post] Jun 25, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page