1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

x120e, SATA II or SATA III

Discussion in 'ThinkPad Edge, X1, X100e/X120e, & SL/L' started by abachofner, Mar 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abachofner

    abachofner Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want to buy a SSD for the x120e and I have narrowed it down to the next two:

    - Crucial RealSSD C300 2.5" 64GB or
    - Intel Postville X25-M 2.5" 80GB

    the big difference being of course that the Crucial has SATA III and the Intel SATA II, so the final choice depends on the SATA interface on the x120e.

    The Lenovo 'Personal Systems Reference' under SATA disk say's:
    Some: Solid State Drive (SSD) / SATA 3.0Gb/s, 2.5", upgradable
    Some: Hard Disk Drive / SATA 3.0Gb/s, 2.5" wide, upgradable

    while the Brazos architectural overview states that it should at least have SATA III possibilities:
    [​IMG]

    Is it possible that the SATA III function has been disabled through hardware or BIOS limitations?
     
  2. abachofner

    abachofner Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seems weird that nobody else is considering putting a SSD in his/her x120e..

    (Hope bumping a topic is allright after 5 days :D )
     
  3. invisible

    invisible Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    4,694
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's fine as far as I understand the rules. :) I think perhaps nobody really knows yet, not many have gotten an x120e here yet too.
     
  4. abachofner

    abachofner Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Then again, you would expect the people over at Lenovo to know the answer. Or, one of the 3.764 sites that reviewed the x120e could have taken an in depth look at it..

    (WOW, it's small and cheap! Thumbs up!)
     
  5. MidnightSun

    MidnightSun Emodicon Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,641
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Most people are just getting their X120e machines, so there's no definite answer yet. I won't be able to test, as the SSD I ordered for mine is SATA II.
     
  6. stickboy2k

    stickboy2k Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    79
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I asked a similar question somewhere. I think most are settling for 120gb sata2 in favor of the speed boost of sata3.
    When I read somewhere that the x120e supported sata3 that was my first thought as well. I would love to see someone put 8gb ram and a C300 and rerun all the benchmarks.
     
  7. invisible

    invisible Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    4,694
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There was some debate as to whether or not the x120e actually supports dual channel memory or single channel. I don't think we have a definitive answer on that yet either. Just something to keep in mind when upgrading.
     
  8. mr_raider

    mr_raider Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    HUDSON southbridge supports sata III, since it's based off the AMD sb800.Whether you will see real life speeds slose to sata III is a whole different matter.
     
  9. Karamazovmm

    Karamazovmm Overthinking? Always!

    Reputations:
    2,358
    Messages:
    9,373
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    231
    according to a thread in the SSD section, it wont be as snappy as people thought it would.

    pretty much the same as I feel, just got a corsair f120 and bummer its fast, but didnt blow my mind at all.
     
  10. MidnightSun

    MidnightSun Emodicon Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,641
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It's definitively single channel. AMD's Zacate only supports single channel memory, so there's no way the X120e would magically support dual channel.
     
  11. k2001

    k2001 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    188
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    More importantly, I want to know if x120e support mSata card. Most likely it is going to be no. I wonder if anybody has try it yet.
     
  12. Silla

    Silla Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Check out the Engaget thread on the x120e. Someone already tried the new intel 310 msata (soda creek I believe) drives in the x120e and it didn't work. Too bad, I was holding off on buying an ssd for exactly that reason. I finally went with a 120gb intel. I got burned by OCZ earlier this year with the 25nm fiasco so be careful which drive you buy.

    on second thought...maybe it was a thread on slickdeals discussing msata and the x120e. Regardless, it didn't work.
     
  13. algebra

    algebra Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Got my x120e. I love the machine.

    Is the SATA interface II or III?

    And more importantly can the machine use the 6gb/s interface?

    Has anyone tried a vertex III on this machine.

    I realise that might be ridiculous given that the machine isnt worth that much, just wondering though.
     
  14. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    913
    Trophy Points:
    531
    I don't think the x120e would have SATA 3, but somebody correct me if I'm wrong. If it doesn't support SATA 3 then it will not utilize 6 Gb/s.

    The Vertex 3 series isn't even out yet.

    Most SSD don't even come close to saturating SATA 2 levels, only the 510 series from Intel, C300 and Vertex 3 will surpass it IF you have a SATA 3 connector.
     
  15. algebra

    algebra Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    And then there is the question of power consumption on the x120e. how much power do SATA 3 SSDs utilise?

    They have pretty powerful ARM processors for controllers, so the power usage must be at least 1w on idle, which is in the range of regular HDDs.
     
  16. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    913
    Trophy Points:
    531
    It really depends on which SSD you are talking about and the notebook. If it already comes with a 5400 rpm drive it will most likely have the same battery life.
     
  17. minnus

    minnus Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Someone on the Slickdeals forum tried it, and reported that it did not work. I do not recall the model though ~ it was a 40GB msata by Intel.
     
  18. MidnightSun

    MidnightSun Emodicon Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,641
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Not necessarily. Most SSDs, especially Intel and Samsung ones, have idle power consumption significantly lower than 1W. You can look at some of the benchmarks at StorageReview to get a general idea. As a whole, SSDs have lower power consumption than HDDs, but there are definitely exceptions to that rule.
     
  19. mr_raider

    mr_raider Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    A closer look at AMD's Brazos platform - The Tech Report - Page 1
     
  20. jw8725

    jw8725 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I'd like to bump this, can I know if the X120e will support SATA III? Thanks
     
Similar Threads: x120e SATA
Forum Title Date
ThinkPad Edge, X1, X100e/X120e, & SL/L X120e and mSATA... Possible? Mar 27, 2012
ThinkPad Edge, X1, X100e/X120e, & SL/L Does the x120e support msata? Dec 21, 2011
ThinkPad Edge, X1, X100e/X120e, & SL/L x100e/x120e 3-cell battery availability Nov 10, 2014
ThinkPad Edge, X1, X100e/X120e, & SL/L x120e ssd best practices? Jan 30, 2013
ThinkPad Edge, X1, X100e/X120e, & SL/L X120e Nipplemouse™ left click broken Nov 12, 2012

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page