Would you trade your car for a motorcycle, if ... ?

Discussion in 'Motorized Vehicles' started by J.Dre, Mar 8, 2014.

?

Would you trade your car for a motorcycle if you lived in town, close to everything you need?

1. Yes, I would.

3 vote(s)
    17.6%
  2. No, that's not a good idea.

11 vote(s)
    64.7%
  3. Maybe, it depends.

3 vote(s)
    17.6%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J.Dre

J.Dre Notebook Nobel Laureate

Reputations:
    As the poll says. Feel free to discuss below.

I'm considering it... I am a student and plan to move into the city/town soon, pretty close to everything I need. There are buses and whatnot for the winter (3~ months). I've been told motorcycles are cheaper to maintain and own, easier to get around in, and much more fun to drive...and yes, more dangerous. So, what do you think? :thumbsup:

P.S. I've never owned a motorcycle, but I did ride dirt bikes as a kid/teenager. It may take me a week or so to get the hang of it again, but I'm pretty confident in my ability to drive one. I've only owned cars with manual transmissions, so I get the "general idea" of how it would work. Feedback from people who own bikes would be much appreciated! I'm considering the 2014 Honda CBR 600RR, maybe the 1000RR if I get a good deal. The 600RR seems like a really reliable bike. I've watched a lot of reviews on it.

EDIT: If you vote for "Maybe, it depends.", please leave a comment below explaining why you chose this given the information above.

2. Tsunade_Hime

Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow

Reputations:
    Have you ever ridden a bike as a daily driver? Bikes are scary, first bike I rode on was a 1000CC Ninja.

3. J.Dre

Reputations:
    Nope, not as a daily. I rode bikes for fun as a kid/teen. I enjoyed it for the most part.

I'm hoping someone here has a motorcycle and can give me some feedback.

4. radji

radji Farewell, Solenya...

Reputations:
    Several of my old-coworkers at my mechanic's job rode bikes as daily drivers.