Windows7/8 - Updates to hide to prevent Windows 10 Upgrade / Disable Telemetry

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Ultra Male, Aug 23, 2015.

  1. Riley Martin

    Riley Martin Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Greetings. Question about a clean install using Simplix UpdatePack7R2 (January). I was installing win7 on a friend's machine a week or so past. Using January Simplix UpdatePack, everything seemed to go smooth until reboot. Id followed all the instructions for win7SP1 (Pro), installed up to .netFramework 4.5.2, a handfull of security updates, and a select few single KB updates from Windows 7 Update. Using command system32>UpdatePack7R2.exe /ie11 /silent / reboot. Machine would reboot, Win7Live(Simplix) Temp files would clean, then machine would reboot, and after last reboot the machine would be stuck on Black Windows Screen, with Windows Logo.

    Now if I used say, an UpdatePack7R2, from December 2017, the machine would install all those previous UpdatePack7R2 KBs, clean, and reboot no problem. Ive looked around online for an answer but came up blank.

    What do you think the problem was, or what may I have missed? It was a Factory Win10 Installed machine (but the OEMs website states it was win7 eligible -so hardware lockout isnt the culprit). The most frustrating part was any system restore (when booting from SSD/HDD), was that we'd get locked out bc of the win7 USB 3.0 incompatibility. So I had to always change Boot Order, and boot from USB, where Id mounted the OEMs/Intel USB 3.0 drivers (which was another headache trying to find working restore points, but thats another story).

    So yeah, why a Boot-Loop type screen (stalled Win7 logo screen) after using more recent UpdatePacks? I made sure no roll-ups were installed via WinUpdate/Installer. I tried latest UpdatePack7R2 before installing MBAM AV (I also tried UpdatePacks after AV install, both enabled and disabled when using SimplixPack), so I can rule out AV causing the glitch. More than sufficient RAM and disk space were present... I gave it a large Page File (just in case), and made sure the KB noted on Simplix fresh install instructions was installed (sh*t, like KB976932+/-). Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
     
    hmscott likes this.
  2. Riley Martin

    Riley Martin Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    56
    If anyone does a new Install of win7 using a Simplix update pack (using any UpdatePack post 12/2018), would you kindly post if it worked for you? I'm wondering if a .netFramework 4.5.2 Security Update install -prior to running SimplixUpdate pack, was the cause of a Black Screen w/ Windows Icon, 'boot loop'. I can't wrap my head around it, first time I've ever had a problem using Simplix on a Fresh install. I wish I studied Russian language at Uni. *damn* ;) Thanks!
     
    hmscott likes this.
  3. Primes

    Primes Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    773
    Messages:
    1,667
    Likes Received:
    639
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I did a full clean install 2 weeks ago with Win7 pro sp1 .iso via Rufus and then patched with Simplix version 15Dec2018 and had no problems.
     
  4. 6730b

    6730b Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    370
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    106
    KB3150513 was served again here today, as optional.
     
  5. Riley Martin

    Riley Martin Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    56
    *Are any of you all still using a tool like GWX Control Panel for a safety, added precaution?
    Something feels like MS is going to get medieval on our asses in months to come. (not a Skpe user, but perhaps a BS move similar to what MS recently did w/ "old vers" Skpe holdouts?).
    *Also, is there a more recent, KB Uninstall .bat that maybe incorporates some Simplix removals as well as the KBs w/in the bat file here, pg1?
    Thanks!!
     
    Raiderman and hmscott like this.
  6. Raiderman

    Raiderman Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    589
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2,213
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I just disable Windows update filth, and not worry about it. No need for them to push their trash on me, when i can cherry pick KB's.
     
  7. Riley Martin

    Riley Martin Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Internet Explorer 11 ?
    Hey now.
    This post got me thinking about upgrading to ie11 (although I never use Internet Explorer).
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...-internet-browser.826301/page-7#post-10856137

    Any feedback on advantages/disadvantages for updating to ie11? (I used Phoenix's ie10/11 Blocker from Page #1 and left ie9 -set w/ strict settings, plus I never use it).

    Also, is it Ok to turn Internet Explorer 'Off' w/in Windows Features? (I will do that on some machines that don't use any IE dependent software)
    Thanks in advance for any advice/feedback!
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  8. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    5,701
    Messages:
    9,263
    Likes Received:
    6,610
    Trophy Points:
    681
    IE11 is good. Its the bare minimum spec these days.
     
    Riley Martin likes this.
  9. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    19,486
    Messages:
    21,729
    Likes Received:
    36,254
    Trophy Points:
    931
  10. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,769
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    1,856
    Trophy Points:
    181
    From the article:
    Wait ... what? There's a new non-subscription model of Excel available??! Insert-religion-inspired-expression-of-joy!

    I'm perfectly happy to pay for an upgrade to existing software, but only if the new features or improved performance warrant the expense. Still on CS6 and quite happy with that, so why should I want to pay a continuous fee for a static piece of software? The only exception I can think of is antivirus stuff; it exists and functions because it is continuously updated. And that bit needs a steady workforce and paid hours. But it's not my problem Adobe and MS have a huge detail working for them that isn't doing much in earning them revenue; think of new products/avenues or send them off to one of the big techs.

    Installing 2019 on 7 seems to be a thingy, but not impossible to accomplish. Guess you could always install on 10 and robocopy it to a 7 installation plus its registry tree if they tighten the checks.

    I like this comment:
    Yes, that'd be me; Antarctica sounds perfect, tyvm (even though they do have internet access).
     
    Riley Martin, Raiderman, Aroc and 3 others like this.
Loading...

Share This Page