1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Windows 7 issues + Toughbook Model Status

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by Alex, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. Alex

    Alex Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,077
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    CF-18 MK1 Perfect (Read members post) rcx

    CF-18 MK2 Digitizer Perfect (Read members posts) Martin4x4

    CF-19 MK2 Perfect (Read members post) eno801

    Cf-28 Mk 2 touchscreen and hotkeys not working KLonsdale
    Cf-28 Mk 2 hotkeys not working ares93

    CF-29 MK2 Hotkeys not working a few issues Note (Read members post) mochatough
    CF-29 MK4 Perfect note: (use MK5 Hot key driver) TB2010

    CF-29 MK5 Perfect TB2010
    CF-29 MK5 Perfect (use xp Hotkeys drivers) Azrial

    CF-30 MK1 Hot Keys not working TB2010
    CF-30 MK1 Perfect Toughbook
    CF-30 MK1 Perfect dale z

    CF-30 MK2 Perfect Toyo
    CF-30 MK3 Perfect Toyo
     
  2. Alex

    Alex Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,077
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    I would like to have input from Toughbook owners on W7 problems in this thread
    I will edit this first post to list model and mk series then issues and then the member name
    Collectively we can help each other resolve issues but each mk number in a series could need different drivers and problem resolution
    It will be helpful to know ,who has what model and what items are not working and will serve as a reference to others considering upgrading to W7
     
  3. toughbook2010

    toughbook2010 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    21
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    CF-29 MK4 Windows 7 ultimate Must use MK5 Hot key driver. Everything seems fine.

    CF-29 MK5 Windows 7 ultimate everything works great

    CF-30 MK1 Windows 7 ultimate everything working but the Hot Keys

    TB2010
     
  4. KLonsdale

    KLonsdale Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    152
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Cf-28 Mk II Windows 7 Ultimate everything worked but touchscreen and hotkeys.
     
  5. eno801

    eno801 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    92
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    CF-19 MK2 everything working and after much fiddling fixed the hotkeys

    My solution might work for some of ya'll. It seems the hotkeys are tied in to the video driver. Download the Vista Driver for MK2 from Panny and unpack it. Download and upgrade to the latest graphic driver for mobile windows 7 from intel and install. After installation reboot. go to device manager>display adapter and uninstall it. do not reboot. Browse to where the Panny driver unpacked, should be in the util>driver>video folder. right click on setup, select properties>compatibility tab and choose vista service pack 1. close tab and install driver.select yes to it telling you it is an older driver, reboot.
    hotkeys should now work. for some reason if you try to install it by itself it won't work you have to upgrade and then downgrade. Maybe some of the newer files stay and help the old vista driver when it installs.
    This also cures the mute button issue that Rob mentioned in another thread.
     
  6. Azrial

    Azrial Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    580
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    66
    CF29N with no Touchscreen.

    Everything works fine, had to install Hotkeys drivers intended for XP.
     
  7. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,093
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I now have a CF-30 MK1 with everything working!



    Thanks for the "heads up" Rob!
     
  8. JerryNycom

    JerryNycom Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Here's really dumb question: The Hot keys are the F# keys for volume and brightness ans such?
     
  9. Rob™

    Rob™ Toughbook Aficionado

    Reputations:
    435
    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    116
    No problem, RICK! lol... Thank "Toughbook 2010" for that one!! He is an UBER GENIUS!! lol :D

    ~Rob, God forbid Rick takes FOREVER to answer his PM's!~ :D
     
  10. Alex

    Alex Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,077
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Correct ,the most used are Fn+F9 = battery condition and Fn +F1 or F2 for screen brightness

    Last spring when I was testing W7 beta I had issues with hotkeys not working and I could not control the screen brightness on my cf74/cf19/cf30
    I had to remove w7 as I did not want the screen at full brightness


    Alex
     
  11. rcx

    rcx Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    207
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    CF-18 mk1 (early) - Works great when installed like this.

    EDIT: That above issue has been resolved, and display rotation is now functional. See posts 32 & 33 later in this thread.


    New functionality:
    * Tablet PC Buttons - The three customizable Tablet PC buttons can now be assigned a "press and hold" action in addition to the existing "press and release" action that this model originally supported.

    All things considered, not a bad trade-off from my perspective....


    Matthew

    ;)
     
  12. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,093
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I didn't have ANY issues installing my Hotkeys.... Perhaps the drivers need to be installed in order, ala live install of XP on the CF-18?

    I installed the INF driver, then video, then sound, then hotkeys... Then I tried to install the touchscreen. When that failed I started installing the Panasonic stuff.... Handwriting, battery recalibration, DMI, etc.

    If/when I have the time I will try to install it again all over again and see if I can get everything to go the first time but I think we need more testers as I have several builds coming up and won't have time for the next week or two.

    I hope this helps....
     
  13. Toyo

    Toyo Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    266
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    56
    CF-30MK3: Perfect

    CF-30 MK2

    Hot Keys for Screen +/- not working. It shows 100% when I try to adjust it, but it will not move or change the brightness. All the other keys work perfect. I know it was working before, do not remember what I did to change it up. being I don't use the MK2 very much anymore. It's so lonely....

    Rick, you are 100% correct in regards to the order in which you install the drivers. I suggest everyone install them per Panny's W7 install instructions. The INF file is 1st no matter what!
     
  14. aaron7

    aaron7 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    20
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Someone on here had W7 on a CF-27 300MHz that worked :p
     
  15. toughbook2010

    toughbook2010 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    21
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    CF-30 MK1 Windows 7 All is now working correct.

    Touch Screen issue has been fixed.
    Hotkeys working with out Hotkey settings and Hotkey appendix

    Just Upgrade your bios to vista:)

    TB2010
     
  16. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,093
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I'm wondering if upgrading my BIOS to Vista would solve the issue with having to recalibrate my touchscreen every time I turn it on?
     
  17. toughbook2010

    toughbook2010 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    21
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Even though you pledged never to help me. I find my self better than that.

    If you would like your CF-30 MK1 to work correctly all you need to do is update your bios to Vista. It unlocks some things that I have not had before. Puts a keyboard on the screen when you touch it Just to the left center. Use all vista drivers for windows 7 Ultimate Clean install. You will have to install the Hot key App to get the blue box to show up.

    Windows loads most of the drivers. I use these as they are made for windows 7

    Load Sound first ( Reboot )
    Load Hot key driver ( Reboot )
    Load Hot key App ( Reboot )
    Install Touch Screen exe. (Reboot )
    Install Misc. Driver exe. (Reboot )
    Install Battery exe. ( Reboot )

    Anyway All the Vista Drivers Work with windows 7
    My guess is that if you update all toughbooks to vista bios it will fix your problems.

    Hope it helps Many

    TB2010
     
  18. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,093
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I updated to Vista BIOS and everything works EXCEPT the touchscreen.

    None of the drivers work and I cannot calibrate... All the other drivers, hotkey, sound, etc... Carried over.
     
  19. toughbook2010

    toughbook2010 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    21
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Rick I think you will have to do a clean install. When you update to vista bios it adds unknown devices to you computer. The misc driver is now installed through device manger now.

    I'm going to reformat and reinstall just to check my findings

    TB2010
     
  20. maninblack_30

    maninblack_30 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    CF-18 Mk4
    Everything working except 3 tablet buttons.
    Auto rotation works fine, I did a fresh install of Win7 Ultimate, and followed the instructions for the Vista upgrade on the panasonic global site under support.
    Tere were 2 "unknown device" 's listed, the first was the tablet buttons, I can't remember what the other was!
    Some of the "setup.exe" files may give an error when you run them, so you just right click and select compatibillity, then select "Vista" then run them again.


    I do however wish that I could get the buttons to work, even though they are really not needed with Win7, It's built in Tablet support is fantastic!

    Cheers,
    Fraser
     

Share This Page