Windows 7 Clean install Guide for Vaio FZ

Discussion in 'VAIO / Sony' started by coolguy, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. roadrunner2455

    roadrunner2455 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Very nice Guide !!!I have 2 questions.Will the guide be the same for a Sony VGN-AR630E.And secondly would it be the same guide if I were to load Vista 64 bit on on it ?I also have the means to install windows 7 64 bit.Home Pemium.It came with a 32 bit and a 64 bit disc.And if I am not mistaken I can do a Clean install of windows 7 even though it is an upgrade disc.I think you can go into advanced options,format drive ,and then install widows 7 64 bit.

    R.R. 2455
     
  2. coolguy

    coolguy Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    805
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    106
    For similar hardware the drivers should be the same. Also you can download AW-390 series 64-bit drivers for Windows 7 from Sony US support and extract them using Uniextract software. You can do a clean install with the upgrade disc. Various methods are available online if the upgrade product key fails activation after a clean install.
     
  3. paconaranjo

    paconaranjo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Here are working drivers and software for the WebCam Motion Eye VGP-VCC4:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?5mncwztggym

    Install instructions:

    - First install Ricoh (Sony VGP-VCC4) camera driver 6.1008.207.0 with the DPInst64.exe file and restart the computer.
    - Install VAIO Camera Capture Utility (2.7.03.09250)
    - Install Sony image filter driver 1.1.7.4020

    That´s all, now all programs like Skype, Messenger and many others works properly in Windows 7 x64.
     
  4. coolguy

    coolguy Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    805
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    106
    The driver is already mentioned in my guide.
     
  5. tyrmif

    tyrmif Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi coolguy, do you know if this guide works on an FZ-240e? shall I use the same drivers aswell?
     
  6. coolguy

    coolguy Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    805
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    106
    You can use the same hardware drivers if your FZ has similar hardware.
     
  7. Yonder

    Yonder Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks a million for this guide, it worked very well upgrading my FZ21m to W7pro64.

    I have one issue left that I want to deal with though. Back on Vista I had two audio interfaces, HDMI (a) and the normal 3.5mm jack (b). If there was no HDMI cable connected a) displayed as "disconnected" in the sound settings.

    So what I did was that I set a) as default, and that made the sound always go through a) whenever I had connected the laptop through an external display (hdmi) and switched automatically to b) when it was disconnected.

    Now, with my new setup, it looks the same, but the audio settings say that the hdmi interface is always connected, even when the cable is not connected. This forces me to actively change the interface every time in the settings I connect it via hdmi.

    Why does it always show "connected"? Is it due to the graphics driver or the sound driver? I am using:

    AUDIO_DRIVER_SIGMATEL_5.0Q073QD_6.10.5548.0 LOGO.ZIP and
    VistaWin7x64_185.85.exe (dox modified).

    In my previous setup i was using STDAUD-01487701-UN.exe (SigmaTel™ High Definition Audio CODEC Driver 6.10.5614.0) and
    Forceware 185.20 dox modified
     
  8. coolguy

    coolguy Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    805
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Yonder, use the 6.10.5614.0 driver.
     
  9. Yonder

    Yonder Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks, I'll try that one.

    Actually, I missed that I was trying an older one than the one included in your guide..I'll try that one, and if it doesn't work I'll go with the 6.10.5614.0 driver.

    While searching I stumbled across these: http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/23790-latest-sigmatel-idt-modded-drivers-for-win-7-and-vista/

    Driver versions as new as 6.10.6255... Modded included many hidden features...anybody tried these on a vaio?

    EDIT

    I have tried the drivers...still the same problem. My HDMI audio interface always shows as "ready". So if I set it to default it won't work.

    I'm thinking this problem is related to the graphics driver
     
  10. coolguy

    coolguy Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    805
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Yonder you can try another new driver in the Sony FTP site. I am using the modded (myself) 195.62 Nvidia driver. Going to update my guide soon.
     

Share This Page