Windows 7 & AlienSense

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by ISD, Sep 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ISD

    ISD Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi guys!

    I just installed the 32 bit version of Windows 7 Ultimate N on my m15x and was saddened when I found out that AlienSense does not appear in the Command Center. Has anyone managed to run AlienSense on Windows 7? If so, please share your experience. I will really appreciate it.

    Cheers!
    x
     
  2. lordqarlyn

    lordqarlyn Global Biz Consultant

    Reputations:
    73
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    well I have been hearing that Aliensense does not fully work with Win7. Not having Win7 myself, I cannot offer any insights....
     
  3. Marvie100

    Marvie100 On a Mission

    Reputations:
    394
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
  4. steveninspokane

    steveninspokane John 14:6 - Only ONE Way!

    Reputations:
    732
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I'm running Win 7 Professional 64 bit ( Final Release) and Can't get anything in command center working. Wait till Oct when AW releases drivers.
     
  5. steveninspokane

    steveninspokane John 14:6 - Only ONE Way!

    Reputations:
    732
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    And Marvie, the first thread you posted is for the m17x, therefor off topic, but thanx for the other two.
     
  6. Marvie100

    Marvie100 On a Mission

    Reputations:
    394
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    You can download the AW Command Center from Dell. Aliensense is not a separate installation from the Command Center. It should also be on the CDs.
     
  7. azelexx

    azelexx Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    so far only AlienFX and AlienTouch works, the more advanced command centre functions like modifying your computer settings (too many to list) and as OP mentioned AlienSense does not work
     
  8. xxEIEIOxx

    xxEIEIOxx Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Windows 7 and Vista do not have the same default power profiles, so there is no way the AlienSense will work. There is only balanced and power saver. They will need to update it for 7.
     
  9. Taomyn

    Taomyn Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Wrong, Win7 has the same 3, Balanced, Power Saver and Performance - the last one is hidden and you need to press the little button to make it appear.
     
  10. steveninspokane

    steveninspokane John 14:6 - Only ONE Way!

    Reputations:
    732
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    You can always create your own power saving settings, by clicking on your battery icon, and opening "Power Options" and choosing "Create a power plan" on the left side of the screen.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. NullEntity
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    2,864
  2. jve33
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    401
  3. a_beast33
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    593
  4. Pman
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    854
  5. Kcissem
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    770
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page