Windows 10 Tweaks and Fixes (Index post #1)

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Spartan, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Fire Tiger

    Fire Tiger Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    943
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    76
    How do I find the Intel microcode? I'm on 1.7.3 BIOS.

    Yeah seems fine done a few restarts and remains disabled. Does it increase performance by disabling or is the difference so small I wouldn't notice?
     
    Spartan likes this.
  2. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,446
    Messages:
    23,928
    Likes Received:
    41,606
    Trophy Points:
    931
    You should be able to find it in the Windows Registry, Aida64, Hwinfo64 etc. Here is an old guide for yooo:vbbiggrin: Google is your friend, bruh:hi:
    Depends on how far Dell's engineers have crippled the laptop.
     
    Mr. Fox and Fire Tiger like this.
  3. Fire Tiger

    Fire Tiger Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    943
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Intel Microcode = B8
    Dell/Alienware BIOS = 1.7.3

    upload_2019-10-16_7-51-42.png
     
    Spartan likes this.
  4. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,446
    Messages:
    23,928
    Likes Received:
    41,606
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Not sure if your 9700K with Intel 'R0 stepping use new/other Microcode. But Intel's latest Microcode Update Guidance dated Aug 31, 2019 show 0xAE as latest.
    upload_2019-10-16_22-11-54.png

    The same does Micro$lope for their latest Microcode patch - 1903. Test it if you run Win 10 1903. The patch shouldn't install MCU if the one you have is newer.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
    Fire Tiger and Mr. Fox like this.
  5. Fire Tiger

    Fire Tiger Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    943
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I re-ran InSpectre and it said there were no Microcode updates available. I did attempt to download the patch above but it stated it wasn't available, likely been locked down by Dell then?
     
    Spartan likes this.
  6. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,446
    Messages:
    23,928
    Likes Received:
    41,606
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Wasn't available? What you mean? And you are on Win 10 1903 ?
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
  7. Fire Tiger

    Fire Tiger Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    943
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Sorry I revisited this, I did not download the correct installer... I was still half asleep earlier. I downloaded the correct installer (x64 instead of x86) and it has applied successfully, however, my Intel Microcode has remained the same. Its all a learning experience for me, I don't even know what half this stuff means. Let me know if you need anything further.


    upload_2019-10-17_10-5-7.png
    upload_2019-10-17_10-3-41.png

    upload_2019-10-17_10-6-31.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Papusan and Spartan like this.
  8. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,446
    Messages:
    23,928
    Likes Received:
    41,606
    Trophy Points:
    931
    How to add AHCI Link Power Management to Power Options in Windows

    AHCI Link Power Management configures the link power management mode for disk and storage devices that are attached to the system through an AHCI interface. In Windows 10 you can add the "AHCI Link Power Management" option to the Power Options applet of the classic Control Panel. It is a hidden option that is not visible by default.
     
    Vasudev, 0lok and Fire Tiger like this.
  9. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOK's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    23,446
    Messages:
    23,928
    Likes Received:
    41,606
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Winaero Tweaker 0.16 is available with Windows 10 version 1909 support

    With Fixed bugs, Improvements and New features.

    Windows 10 version 1909 is rumored to become generally available tomorrow, so I am releasing a new version of Winaero Tweaker that is able to properly recognize it. The new version also includes a number of bugfixes and new features.
     
    Fire Tiger likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page