Win 7 Pro to Win 10 Pro (1903) in place upgrade errors

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by alexhawker, Nov 1, 2019.

  1. alexhawker

    alexhawker Spent Gladiator

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    769
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Hi folks,

    I'm in the beginning stages of rolling out Win 10 Pro on ~100 machines. Unfortunately, I don't have access to an Enterprise license, SCCM, etc., just working with Win 7 Pro volume open licenses.

    I've been able to upgrade a few machines for testing group policies, etc., and that's all been going well, so I started rolling out the new OS to some employee machines. I have two that are giving me a hard time with errors. In one case, this is the exact same configuration as several other machines that were upgraded with no issues.

    I've tried installing a few times via the Media Creation Tool directly, or USB media made with that tool.

    On one machine I get the error 0x8007042B - 0x2000D The installation failed in the SAFE_OS phase with an error during MIGRATE_DATA operation, and the other gives 0x8007001F-0x20006, The installation failed in the SAFE_OS phase with an error during REPLICATE_OC operation.

    I've done some googling, but haven't found anything that works, and there are a lot of results related to earlier builds of Win10, or upgrading from an earlier build to 1903, rather than from Win7.

    Does anyone have any ideas or experience with these errors? I can clean install if I absolutely must, but it's a last resort (and I'm only ~10 machines into a 100 machine rollout, so I'm hoping for a success rate > 80%).

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
     
  2. alexhawker

    alexhawker Spent Gladiator

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    769
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Any ideas?
     
  3. Primes

    Primes Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    824
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    131
    For machines with identical hardware, what about creating a clonezilla image and then deploy that. Then just change the windows key after its up and running.
     
  4. alexhawker

    alexhawker Spent Gladiator

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    769
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Unfortunately the software loadout varies significantly across the 100 machines (reception, classroom, staff office, laser room, electronics, textiles, etc., etc.).

    I think I'm making some progress, but didn't get as far as I wanted to today. The issue may be related to one or two Windows updates that seem to be failing to install).

    I'll report back with how that goes.
     
  5. alexhawker

    alexhawker Spent Gladiator

    Reputations:
    486
    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    769
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Finally had some success here, after trying a ton of things.

    So far, it seems like I can run the in-place upgrade on the "problem machines" using the 1809 build, and then upgrade that to 1903.
     
Loading...

Share This Page