WiDi on the XPS

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by insidemanpoker, Apr 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. insidemanpoker

    insidemanpoker Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    79
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Has anyone successfully used the XPS' WiDi technology?

    Is netgear's push2tv the only way to utilize the technology?

    It has pretty mixed reviews, and the 2nd edition, HD version was supposed to come out months ago and is still not released yet.

    I would love some more information on the technology and how to utilize it as well as hear anyones personal experiences with it.

    Also, I ordered the Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM and according to Intel, WiDi is only supported by the Core 17 2630UM. Is that the same thing or do I have a problem? What is the difference between UM and QM?

    The first push2tv has generally pretty bad reviews. Is there reason to be optimistic about the new version combined with 2nd gen SB chips?

    Thanks!

    http://www.intel.com/consumer/products/technology/wirelessdisplay.htm#fragment-a-2
     
  2. snoozeulooze

    snoozeulooze Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Has anybody tried it out yet? Any success? Is push2tv worth getting?
     
  3. inNout

    inNout Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm waiting on PTV2000. They are supposed to start shipping this week.
     
  4. adi9

    adi9 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I'm also waiting for PTV2000. ETA on Canada in a week (it's already available in US). This is going to be the first 1080p (WiDi 2.0) box out. There is no release time from the other 2 manufacturers.

    Intel updated it's CPU list and it looks like 2630QM is on the list now. You need to have "Optimus" also, to get WiDi so it will not work for XPS with 3D screens.

    One of the first reviews here:

    http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=65772

    and here:

    http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63904
     
  5. Falco152

    Falco152 Notebook Demon

    Reputations:
    435
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You don't need Nvidia Optimus to work.

    The requirement is an intel wireless card (1000 series or 6000 series)and an intel cpu with Intel HD igpu enabled (Arrandale series or later).

    The XPS 17 3D can't use WiDi cause it doesn't have Intel HD igpu enabled.
     
  6. Asleep

    Asleep Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I've heard it's laggy compared to WiHD?
     
  7. DJY

    DJY Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Got WIDI working on my XPS after a factory restore (spent an hour on the phone with DELL). I picked up Push2TV HD at Best Buy 05/01. Orginally had an Intel 1030 wireless card - worked fine. Upgraded my wireless card to 6230 - works fine.
    I have been watching internet TV, my videos, pictues for about an hour - works great. Yes there is a slight lag so it is probabaly not good for gaming.
     
  8. adi9

    adi9 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Sorry, I wanted to say ,if you have a discrete nVidia card, you need to be able to disable it (in nVidia terms it's called "Optimus"). Same for AMD cards. For WiDi you need to be able to use Intel internal video. Some laptops (like XPS 3D) need the discrete card allways on to drive the display so you can not use Intel's graphic.
     
  9. Falco152

    Falco152 Notebook Demon

    Reputations:
    435
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That's why I said it has to be "enabled" as in running and usable.

    Not all laptops offers only AMD and Nvidia cards.

    ------
    The XPS 3D only uses the discrete cause the intel igpu does not support the 120 hz refresh rate screen.

    Also, the switchable technology decided by the OEM to support it or not.
     
  10. JeffL

    JeffL Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have an XPS 15 with the 1080p screen and I just got WiDi. Picked up a PTV2000 HD at Best Buy a couple days ago. I've only had the chance to set it up and see it work but not play around with it much. It did transmit the HD laptop display to the TV just fine. Quality looked great. Just moving the mouse around a bit I didn't really notice much lag. I'm sure there is some that might be a problem for gaming but I don't know. From what I saw, normal use should not be a problem. I did use it to play Winamp music via the TV to the sound system and it worked fine (i.e. audio only). I haven't tried any movies yet. Hope to do more playing around with it over the next couple days. The first thing I did was update the WiDi software from the Intel site. After firing it up, the Widi adapter detected new firmware and I allowed it to update as well. So far I'm happy and it's pretty cool seeing the display from your laptop on the 55" LCD with no wires!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page