Why is my fan running fast!!!

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by bilabonic, Nov 8, 2019 at 6:16 AM.

  1. bilabonic

    bilabonic Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    I'm still getting problems with freezing up and fan spinning up!!

    Do i need to disable Win Defender and get a good paid one (i have had recommendations, just not had the time to sort it)

    Is there a free tool out there to scan my system, was thinking of disabling Windows Protector and using Comodo.

    I jam also have pop ups 'page not responsive as well'

    The tab on this forum now still has a 'spinning disc'

    I am having to select 'wait' instead of 'exit pages' all the time!!!

    This whats running -

    https://imgur.com/a/QK8LzkR

    Cheers
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  2. bilabonic

    bilabonic Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Shut everything that was open. Thunderbird, Chrome etc and i could barely get the snipping tool to respond to take pic below, disc stuck on 100%!!!

    Disc 100%.JPG
     
  3. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    28,417
    Messages:
    34,859
    Likes Received:
    55,070
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Windows Defender is as good or better than most anything else. It has gotten a lot better than it used to be and is more effective than most third-party options. Your resources are being consumed to such a massive extent that either malware or a failing HDD are the likely cause.

    Best bet is to copy all of your important user-generated files and documents to external media, then reset/restore the OS or format and do a clean install. If the problem is a failing HDD you may encounter some difficulty doing either of those things.

    https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/reset-windows-10-pc
     
    bilabonic likes this.
  4. bilabonic

    bilabonic Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This Win10 install was installed fresh last week mate.

    The reson i mentioned Defender is that it is in the sticky on here to disable it and get a decent paid for Firewall/Antivirus.
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  5. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Undefiled BGA-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    28,417
    Messages:
    34,859
    Likes Received:
    55,070
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Something is definitely not right with your system resource utilization. Sometimes a failing HDD will behave similarly to a system infected by malware. No pop-ups, of course, but super sluggish and high resource utilization.

    I think you would be better off buying a matching 4GB stick of RAM to fill the second memory slot (assuming that you have one of two slots filled) than going with a paid malware solution. If your system is in single channel mode with only 4GB, going to 8GB in dual channel will be a performance improvement you can feel. Beyond that, not so much. (Going to 16GB x 2 won't be an improvement you can feel for most use scenarios.)

    Defender is getting results that are as good as ESET and Avast, Norton and others, with nowhere near as much bloat as many of them have. It's ironic that so many security solutions carry a payload of adware for their own digital rubbish. Even the better ones will randomly spam or nag you about buying more of their crap.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019 at 2:02 PM
    bilabonic likes this.
  6. Primes

    Primes Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    824
    Messages:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    131
    bilabonic and Mr. Fox like this.
  7. 6730b

    6730b Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    565
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    892
    Trophy Points:
    106
    What I've done in some process of id\discard possible causes of problems: remove hd and whetever is connected, boot from a usb stick, f.ex. Reflect recovery\pe stick.

    If fan still goes banana quickly after boot there's possibly some hardware problem.

    If ok, boot once more from stick with hd and whetever is normally in use connected, and see if any difference.

    If all stays quiet, looks fine and no smoke :O) one can move to the os\drivers etc.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019 at 10:59 AM
    Mr. Fox and 0lok like this.
  8. bilabonic

    bilabonic Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I plan on adding an 8Gb stick alongside my 4Gb, giving me 12Gb.

    I also want to just use this 1000Gb HDD for storage and get a 256Gb SSD or 320Gb SSD ( i need to put a post up on what to get as some of the cheaper ones seem slow when filled).

    I was thinking of doing a totally fresh install on the new SSD, then just add my existing 1000Gb, copy across that files i need, then format it.

    Would i be able to view all my files/docs when i add it?

    The reason i am thinking of doing it this way is that i do not want to use a tool like Easus or windows clone tool is that there may be something dodgy on this drive and i would simply be transferring it to my nw SSD.

    Since i have done a flash install, i have only installed LibreOffice, Java (as i like to use Angry Ip Scanner).
    That's it, nothing else, it's as clean as they come.

    Got to try some RAM first though, it's always maxed.

    Cheers
     
  9. bilabonic

    bilabonic Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cheers mate, will give it a run before i go to bed. When i purchased the Laptop the woman stated it was low sometimes, i just presumed a clean install would of sorted it.

    I think an extra 8Gb stick along with mt current 4Gb should make a difference/

    Thanks
     
  10. bilabonic

    bilabonic Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Going to get this, it's NON-EEC as well.

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Crucial-...180458?hash=item420ba4a2aa:g:6MwAAOSwWz1dvtbv

    Worth a start i guess, 12Gb of ram is huge for me...lol

    My last 10 year old Acer Centrino had 2Gb, non expandable lol

    I never filled the 320Gb HDD though in all those years, plus i had Windows firewall disabled and just used Comodo free firewall and never had a problem.

    I find it odd that very knowledgeable people with very high spec systems all have different views.

    I have had others state that Win Defender needs disabling as it is bloated and to purchase one from a list in the sticky.

    One thing i did do that has made a massive difference is disabling 'Windows Search' and rebooting.

    TBH i am juts enjoying learning about Netbooks, ram, SSD's etc,, they were ALL 'alien' to me then (no pun intended).

    Great forum with very patient and knowledgeable people

    Shall i grab the above ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page