Why does Dell set the BIOS to RAID always?

Discussion in 'Dell' started by Spartan, Feb 20, 2020.

  1. Spartan

    Spartan Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    26,274
    Messages:
    21,814
    Likes Received:
    32,900
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I still don't get it why do they set the BIOS to RAID rather than AHCI regardless whether or not the system is running a RAID array or not?

    It has always been this way and even on my latest laptop which I just bought (XPS 15 7590) with a single NVMe SSD, it's setup in RAID and even has the RAID app and the Optane shell extensions installed as if it would do me any benefit? or is it just a matter of laziness because they can't be bothered to setup each system depending on what hardware it came with?

    Having the setup in RAID rather than AHCI can often lead to some SSDs not working with their manufacturer software (ie. Samsung Magician) or cause problems when you try to install an SSD Firmware update even if it came from Dell, the firmware updater wouldn't even detect the drive(s).
     
  2. custom90gt

    custom90gt Doc Mod Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,425
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    3,717
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I could only venture a guess and say it's because it allows the use of Intel RST drivers which work for the majority of the manufacturers (since most manufacturers outside of Samsung do not provide NVMe drivers)...
     
    Spartan likes this.
  3. Spartan

    Spartan Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    26,274
    Messages:
    21,814
    Likes Received:
    32,900
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Just for reference, here are the benchmarks of my 2TB Toshiba NVMe SSD in RAID vs AHCI:

    RAID:

    AS SSD Benchmark (RAID).png

    AHCI:

    AS SSD Benchmark (AHCI).png
     
    jclausius and Fire Tiger like this.
  4. custom90gt

    custom90gt Doc Mod Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,425
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    3,717
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I've found that Raid typically performs similar to AHCI however I get better battery life with Raid (better idle states) so that's what I've been running.
     
  5. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    28,247
    Messages:
    25,434
    Likes Received:
    45,614
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Why you got that low scores from this NVMe drive from Toshiba? From what I can see, AHCI or RAID both isn't where it should be.... https://www.tomshardware.com/news/toshiba-xg5-p-rd500-nvme-ssd,36024.html

    Edit. On latest firmware? https://www.dell.com/support/home/u...j&oscode=wt64a&productcode=xps-15-7590-laptop
    upload_2020-2-24_1-13-58.png

    Toshiba XG5 and XG5-P in the test: BiCS-3 SSDs with few weaknesses review hardwareluxx.de
    upload_2020-2-24_2-52-59.png
    Possible culprit for the low scores...
    Negative aspects of the Toshiba XG5-P 2 TB:
    • temperature-related throttling and small SLC cache
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2020
  6. Spartan

    Spartan Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    26,274
    Messages:
    21,814
    Likes Received:
    32,900
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Have you a doubt that I am not on the latest firmware?

    I'll run the test again once I've let it idle for a long time for TRIM Garbage collection

    2020-02-24_070823.png
     
    jclausius, Fire Tiger and Papusan like this.
  7. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    28,247
    Messages:
    25,434
    Likes Received:
    45,614
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Does it mean the latest and greatest has to give best performance? Yeah, I have seen Dell say so in Fixes & Enhancements. After you have checked the performance, run a couple of times with Hwinfo or similar tool to follow up the ssd temps. Atto bench is nice to push it to throttling. And with a nice graph:)

    Crystal DiskMark
    ATTO Disk Benchmark
     
  8. epguy3

    epguy3 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    138
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    56
    which other models of Dell laptops beside the XPS 7590 are the RAID options in the UEFI/BIOS set as the default option? some old Dell laptops either don't have RAID set as default or don't have the RAID option listed at all
     
  9. alaskajoel

    alaskajoel Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    962
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    106
    The 7740 and 7540 I've used recently both had RAID set as the default.
     
  10. Spartan

    Spartan Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    26,274
    Messages:
    21,814
    Likes Received:
    32,900
    Trophy Points:
    931
    My wife's 7 year old Vostro 5470 has it set to RAID as well. I have never seen any Dell laptop setup in AHCI from the factory
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2020
Loading...

Share This Page