Why does built in microphone with Asus MV50-A1 not work???

Discussion in 'Asus' started by Catalina, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Catalina

    Catalina Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    I haved been using the Asus MV50-A1 for 2 days and now that i try the microphone it will not work. Even the people at asus can not get it to work. They say it might be a hardware problem. Any ideas anyone? Anybody else have that problem?? HELP!!! I do not want to send this computer back :eek: as i need it. no more desktop!!

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. Oldman

    Oldman Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    64
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    How do you know it does not work?
     
  3. D3X

    D3X the robo know it all

    Reputations:
    673
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Make sure it's not muted in the Control Panel>Sound>Recording Devices.
     
  4. Adamd

    Adamd Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It kind of sucks to start with.

    Buying yourself a cheap external one will be a lot better :)
     
  5. ViciousXUSMC

    ViciousXUSMC Master Viking NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    11,461
    Messages:
    16,843
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    466
    all the built in mics suck hardcore, $5 at wally world can get you something much more usable, but atleast its there in a pinch. You may need to turn up the gain/boost in the advanced sound control panel and just make sure its selected as your default device and not muted like D3X said.
     
  6. Oldman

    Oldman Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    64
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I think nobody can listen to his own speech from NB speakers while talking to a NB microphone. Firstly you have to record your speech, than play it back. So particular program has to be used. Probably OP did not make it right
     
  7. Catalina

    Catalina Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I tried that but there is just a very very thin line of green that appears in the line when trying to configure the microphone. This morning discovered the boost option which worked for a while then not anymore. Bought an external microphone which now works with sound recorder but not with msn!!! What's going on here? Thanks!
     
  8. Catalina

    Catalina Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    because no sound is detected in anything i try to record or in the configuration. The booster work slightly this morning but not anymore. No green line appears when configuring it.
     
  9. JCMS

    JCMS Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    455
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105

    I got my C90S' to work well with +20.0db and noise/echo supression, surprisingly.
     
  10. Oldman

    Oldman Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    64
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    In 'accessories' there is a program called 'VOICE RECORDER'
    Try to use this one to record and play back your voice to check out your mice. It is possible that the problem is not mice but MSN configuration
     
Similar Threads: does built
Forum Title Date
Asus does the g1s have a built in mic? Oct 16, 2007
Asus Does the new W5Ae have built in RF? Dec 9, 2005
Asus Does the Asus built in video cam act as webcam? Jul 24, 2005
Asus Does the N551JX support mDP 1.2? Jul 17, 2015
Asus ASUS G73jh doesn't turn on Jun 4, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page