1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Why can't I install Windows XP Professional on my Gateway notebook?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Sgt_Strider, Sep 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everytime I try to install the OS, the notebook crashes and I get that BSOD. The reason why I'm installing the OS is cuz Gateway has installed all of their crap software into the OS that they gave me. Any reasons why this is happening to me? Thanks.
     
  2. mujtaba

    mujtaba ZzzZzz Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,092
    Messages:
    3,079
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    116
    How are you trying to install the windows,
    Are you using the bootable CD or simply clicking Setup.exe.
    A clean installation generally means that you are going to kill the windows on drive C:
     
  3. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just put in the CD and attempt to boot from the external DVD drive since my ultraportable doesn't have an internal optical drive. I know how to format a computer as I have done it like a billion times on my desktop.
     
  4. mujtaba

    mujtaba ZzzZzz Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,092
    Messages:
    3,079
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    116
    And you fail of booting from the DVD?
    Then when do you get BSOD? On which step?
     
  5. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After it loads all the files and the part where it says "starting windows", it crashes. I get the following technical error:

    "0x0000007B (0xF7A8A524, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)"
     
  6. root

    root Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do me a favor, list your specifications.
     
  7. bgeo

    bgeo Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Please post the first few lines along with the BSOD error codes. We would then be able to identify the cause.
    Also, was XP Pro your original OS ? stop error 0x0000007B is very likely to be a device driver issue. Are you also getting any other errors such as INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE?

    BGeo
     
  8. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I honestly don't get how this will help, but the laptop has a Core Solo U1300, 1GB of RAM, 12.1" Widescreen, 80GB hard drive 5400 RPM.
     
  9. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, XP Pro is my OS. This is what XP displayed when it crashed:

    "Check for viruses on your computer. Remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllers. Check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and terminated. Run CHKDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption, and then restart your computer."

    I'm sure there aren't any viruses or any hard drive installation issues. I'm using the stock hard drive. The only thing that I haven't done is the CHKDSK /F thing. I don't know how to do it.
     
  10. bgeo

    bgeo Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In your earler post you had mentioned Stop 0x0000007B error message
    This is also sometimes caused by a boot-sector virus. I didn't want to mention it as you stated that it's been formatted. Could you once again post the complete erro codes and warning text immediately after the error code.
    Are you sure you reformatted the drive properly ?

    For running CHKDSK /F, (if your machine is not bootable in XP), create a generic boot disk (can create it from any machine). boot using the boot disk and at the command prompt run chkdsk.
    I am assuming that you are using the original XP OS cd to install and that it contains all the drivers needed.
     
  11. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where did I say that I successfully formatted my computer? I have already displayed all of the error codes and messages. There's nothing more.
     
  12. bgeo

    bgeo Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Sorry, I was in a hurry and I assumed that you had reformatted the drive.
    Anyway, you mentioned stop:0x0000007B error. Two reasons (there could be other reasons as well) for this error are:
    1) Boot sector virus
    2) device drivers.

    One of the ways to resolve problems like this is using method of elimination. So, if you are in a position to reformat the drive, you may try that as well.

    I am not sure about the media you OS media you are using. Are you using the gateway provided OS reinstallation CD from Gateway or are you using a new XP professional installation CD ?
    I think the reinstallation disk from gateway would contain the entire software package, not just the OS. If you are using the gateway reinstallation CD, chances are that you will end up with the same unwanted programs loaded. If you are using a new XP OS installation CD, you might be missing the required drivers.
    Or there could be boot sector virus. I am nentioning all these because you had mentioned 0x0000007B error. This error should be giving you a text description as well. That's what I am asking for.

    BGeo
     
  13. Thaenatos

    Thaenatos Zero Cool

    Reputations:
    1,564
    Messages:
    5,238
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did it come with XP home? My wifes gateway wouldnt accept a XP pro install either, but at least it booted. The drivers on her laptop wont work in xp pro. I would check to see if the drivers are meant for XP pro. Also when you install do you quick format or do you do a full format? I have ALWAYS had issues with the quick format; like system files not copying right as well as non bootable PC. Just a thing top check, let me know.
     
  14. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it came with XP home and I have a spare copy and license of XP Pro. It doesn't make any sense that the drivers won't work on pro yet it works on home. I can't even get the laptop to boot up to the point in which I can pick quick or full format. It just crashes as it attempts to get to that menu.
     
  15. bgeo

    bgeo Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have in the past, come across these types of issues.
    Drivers working perfectly on XP Home do not absolutely guarantee the same behavior on XP Professional. Your original XP home: is it the gateway OS reinstallation CD (or whatever Gateway calls it)? If so, it would contain the required drivers for your machine. Whereas your spare XP Pro may not contain the specific ones. Just my thought. I may or may not be correct.


    Perhaps, your recovery partition might be preventing you from doing a quick/full format during XP Professional setup. If that's the case, the best thing to do is to grab hold of a generic boot disk/CD (you can create one if you don't have one). Use that to boot the machine and use it to reformat your drive. You might have to delete and recreate partitions, before you format. Also, make sure that you have taken adequate backups of all you required files. This is ONLY a suggestion.

    BGeo
     
  16. Greg

    Greg Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,857
    Messages:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had the same problem with a dell machine, and it was because the OEM disk was not service pack 2.

    is you disk SP2 (not slipstreamed but the original?)?
     
  17. Thaenatos

    Thaenatos Zero Cool

    Reputations:
    1,564
    Messages:
    5,238
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sp1 and sp2 wont make or break an installation. But sp1 or 2 may affect drivers. Now your saying you cant even get through recovery console at all? If so there may be something afoot; possible a bad cd, or something going on with your PC.
     
  18. Pitabred

    Pitabred Linux geek con rat flail!

    Reputations:
    3,295
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SP1 or default XP will break an install onto an SATA drive. SP2 or higher is REQUIRED to load XP onto an SATA hard drive, unless you're loading the drivers separately from a floppy drive, which the ultraportable doesn't have.
     
  19. Sgt_Strider

    Sgt_Strider Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    -1
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The original disk doesn't have SP2. I slipstreamed SP2 into a backup CD. Still this doesn't explain why I'm able to install XP Pro on my desktop, but not on my laptop. Btw, my desktop has a 200GB SATA hard drive.
     
Similar Threads: can't install
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Asus N76VZ-V2G-T1011V can't enter BIOS after installing Win8 on ssd Aug 15, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Installed new intel 310 msata ssd - can't see it! Nov 3, 2011
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Can't Install Printer Drivers May 28, 2011
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Can't install Windows when Multi Processing is enabled Nov 20, 2010
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades VAIO PCG-TR5GP - can't install audio drivers Jul 13, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page