Which surface book 2 should I buy?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by starlightimpala, Jan 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starlightimpala

starlightimpala Newbie

Reputations:
    Debating between the 13" surface book 2:
    - 256GB storage & 8GB RAM ($2550)
    - 512GB storage & 16GB RAM ($3230)

Both are i7 models, I'll be using it for mostly web surfing, movies, using microsoft word etc. but also some light video editing, I'm no professional, everyone seems to be pointing towards the 16GB RAM, but I'm unsure as the price difference is a massive $800AUD. I will be travelling with this laptop (overseas but also to uni etc.) and I don't really want to wait too long for transferring videos

If it does come down to it, I don't mind forking out a bit extra if it is worth it as I do want this laptop to be long lasting and won't be switching for a while.

I was really wanting the 15" but it's too big for travel :( so I will be buying a monitor in the far future

Please help me! Thanks :)

EDITED:: (added in form)
    General Questions

1) What is your budget? Don't really mind budget as long as it is worth it, but I don't want to pay for something I won't use

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen
    3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.
    Australia
    4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: like touchscreens but also like apple
    b. Dislike: none
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? Maybe

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?

Browsing web, watching movies, using photoshop (only from time to time just to edit photos), video editing (very light again, I'm not a professional)

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both? Take with me, travel