Which Laptop should I buy?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by rokyslash, May 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rokyslash

rokyslash Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    First of all, hello everyone, I am new to this forum.

I am thinking of buying a new Laptop and my budget is $1000. I am a college student, however I plan to use my laptop for gaming and doing some graphics rendering in software like blender and maya and also for some video editing work. I am not a heavy user of modern touch screen technology like in phones etc. But I still wanted to see if I could buy a 2 in 1 for my needs. These are the 3 options that I have right now.

1. Get a gaming laptop for $1000 that takes care of all my high tech needs like gaming and doing heavy graphics related work.
    2. Get a 2 in 1 (but since my main use is as a laptop, I need at least 15 inch screen sized laptop).
    3. Get a laptop which is not so high tech as the first one, but it will have a touch interface and it will be fun to use, but doing so, I will obviously not get as much computer juice I want for the money, rather the money is more spent on luxurious things like touch interface etc. This is kinda a trade off between first option and third option.

So I haven't decided on which of these 3 options is the best for me so it would be great if you get recommend me Laptops for each category. The main criteria is that my budget will not exceed $1000. Also these are some of my ideas about my dream system.

Hard Disk: I am not interested in SSDs, I'd rather have a 7200rpm or even 5400rpm traditional Hard drive of size 1 TB

RAM : 8 GB or 16 GB

Processor : i7 (5th or 6th generation)

Screen: 15 inch or more, with HD or more resolution

Graphic Card: No integrated chip. Any dedicated card with at least 2GB video memory

and finally optional things :

Touch : if possible

Tablet mode : 2 in 1 ability if possible