Where are all of the X60 Users?

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by bigwormie, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigwormie

bigwormie Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hey guys I have been browsing these forums frequently for a couple of months and see very few posts about the x60 machines. To those of you who own them, are you happy with them? Or is it that very few people own them in comparison to some of the other machines discussed here?

2. Andrew Baxter

Andrew Baxter -

Reputations:
    I know there's a few that own them around here, skibunny spent a lot of time researching and then buying an X60. I've used the X60s and X60 tablet. I loved them both for the review period I had them. Fewer own ultraportables than the mainstream size ThinkPads but there's definitely some here. If you have specific questions, just ask.

3. sprucebeach

sprucebeach Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I second bigwormie's question. I've been using a 5.8-pound laptop with a 14-inch-display for several years, and I find it kind of heavy to carry around in a bag, take out and set up in front of me during a meeting, etc. It's not that I'm too weak to carry it, but it's the 700-pound gorilla in any small, flexible carry bag, and I'd like something smaller and lighter.

For me the X60 seems to have a lot going for it -- no touchpad, a keyboard light, no optical drive to save weight, matte-finish display, non-wide-angle display (so I can keep business private). Yet it doesn't seem to be that popular and there's little discussion about it here. I'd really like to know what those who regularly use an X60 think about it.

I do have one question has that has been asked recently but not fully answered. If the hard drive failed could I reinstall Windows Vista from a USB DVD drive using the restore DVD's that I created?

4. sp00n

sp00n Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Yes, the x60s can boot USB external optical drives.

I'll be buying a x60s with Vista soon.