1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

What's the difference between Mac and PC (Hardware)

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by brncao, Jan 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brncao

brncao Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    I've never used a mac before, but I was wondering if there are any differences between a mac and a PC hardware-wise. The price difference says a lot.

2. Peon

Peon Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Short version: The chassis.

Long version: With Macs, you're paying more for the right to use Mac OS X than the hardware itself.

3. weinter

weinter /dev/null

Reputations:
    The Logo on the cover.

4. brncao

brncao Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    If so, if Apple wanted to compete with the PC market, then why are the prices so high if hardware difference is negligible? I could simply build a PC, install OS X, and call it a mac.

5. surfasb

surfasb Titles Shmm-itles

Reputations:
    One has more dollar signs on the price tag.

6. Willsclvi

Willsclvi Notebook Guru

Reputations:
    Don't buy an Apple is the conclusion you and I are getting at here, it seems.

7. wave

wave Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    The hardware is the same. Mac hardware is much more selective. The hardware used by Apple is a subset of the PC hardware made by Intel and other Apple partners. You can find all the Apple hardware used in PCs by other manufactures.

You could say that the combination is unique and selective for compatibility with OSX and also compatibility between components. There is also selection for quality. This is not unique to Apple but comparable to what HP, Dell and others use in their business or higher end consumer lines.