what is the main reason of credit card information getting stolen

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by kenny1999, Jun 10, 2018.

1. kenny1999

kenny1999 Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    I am not a computer expert but I believe that I have enough common sense to never enter my credit card details or confidential personal information to any sites that are suspicious. I also always avoid buying things on un-trusted shopping site. However, over the past 4 years, since late 2013, my credit card was
    charged without my authorization for two times, in 2013 and 2016. I wasn't notified until I checked the statement and found out something wrong. I told the bank and they told me that they would investigate and give me paper report but at the end of the day they always just simply canceled or deleted the corresponding charges but they never actually gave me any report, nor just telling me on the phone what happened. I called them, they just delayed delayed and delayed and just said, OK, your charge is cancelled.... without any explanation about what happened.

Since 2018, they have even stopped mailing me paper statement because of environmental reasons, I can only check my statements online and their site is not very user-friendly. Sometimes I just want to cancel the credit card to avoid all the mess and risks but it's really so convenient that I can't live without it in today's world. I have been thinking why it happened from time to time, while my physical card was never stolen. Probably the most risky thing I did so far was sending my credit card details (that includes my name, card number, expiry dates and three-digits code ) to someone in Europe, in the email, but I sent the details in several emails, separately, which was strongly recommended by the merchant, and the merchant was doing real sales and I believe I could trust them.

Was it the main reason? He took my details and sold to the criminals?

2. jeremyshaw

jeremyshaw Big time Idiot

Reputations: