1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

what happend to ftp://ftp.support.acer-euro.com/notebook/?

Discussion in 'Acer' started by oran9e, May 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oran9e

    oran9e Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    where can i download the latest drivers for my aspire?
     
  2. Skibums

    Skibums Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    The E Hills of CA
  3. LeDuc

    LeDuc Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I also try from yesterday... :(
     
  4. gbam

    gbam Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Is there something wrong with Acer people, why is it so hard to find XP drivers for Aspire 7720G???
    Does anybody know where XP drivers can be found?
     
  5. Evolution

    Evolution Vox Sola

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Acer has not provided XP drivers for the aspire 7720 because it didn't come with XP, it is only available with vista.
    For instance my 5102 when it first came out had XP MCE2005 then later versions came with vista home premium so acer have provided drivers for both operating systems. However the aspire 7720 was only shipped with vista on it so acer will only provide the vista drivers. If you want to put XP on it then you will have to find drivers on your own, its unfortunate but that is the way it is. :(

    If you want XP drivers I would suggest you check the different notebook component(chipset, wireless, audio etc) manufacturer webpages and look for XP drivers for the components in your notebook. If they don't have any drivers then you are stuck with vista.
     
  6. gbam

    gbam Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Then they should say that in advance, in large letters VISTA ONLY so I wouldnt buy their notebook!!!
     
  7. Skibums

    Skibums Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    The E Hills of CA
    Actually, if you would have done a little more research before you purchased the notebook, you wouldn't be in this situation. The specs show VISTA as the only OS Acer has for this model, so Vista is the only OS it will support.

    Take some personal responsibility here. Acer did say VISTA ONLY, by not offering any other OS for this system!!!!
     
  8. marcon

    marcon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    That's not quite true
    I ordered an 7720g from laptopsdirect and they offered to 'downgrade' to Windows XP Pro for £185 - where were they gong to get the drivers from?
     
  9. Skibums

    Skibums Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    The E Hills of CA
    Make sure Acer will support the downgrade.
     
  10. Big Seb

    Big Seb Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Actually you may find the bulk of your drivers on your notebook. When I decided to dualboot XP and Vista on my 7720G (Vista preinstalled) I ran into the same problems. I could boot up in XP but couldn't use the USB ports, graphics card, card reader, etc. One day, while in XP (on D drive), I started going through the C drive (Vista) file by file. I found the bulk of my drivers there along with their Vista counterparts. Total Commander is a good tool for this. Then I just ran the setup.exe files for everything marked XP and HEY PRESTO... it worked!!! Only missing then was the driver for my graphics card (Nvidia GeForce 8400). Theat I got from some boffiny people. I wish I knew how to upload it to share it with you guys. Now everything works a charm.

    Don't let people tell you that you can't put XP on a 7720. That's absolute rubbish.
     
  11. dlaub

    dlaub Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello
    I'm new in this forum and i'm french so sorry for my english. Your notebook is an ASPIRE 7720g, right? May be you can try to download XP drivers from ACER Canada (french or english whatever) Site. I've done it and it works good. If you have questions i can try to ask them. I can even tell you the drivers you've got to download.
     
  12. Lise

    Lise Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all,

    I have just begun (kind of... it's been 2 days now) wrestling with the acer aspire 7720 vista-xp downgrade. I have no idea what I have done wrong, but I can't seem to get the graphics driver working (I'm not even considering the AHCI option for this office dog)...

    I did the obvious things - backed up drivers from Vista and created the "safety" image before I started, but as has been mentioned here acer is not supporting XP... so I only have a handful of drivers.

    Ok, so I happily went directly to Intel, (it is an Intel GM965 Express Chipset, confirmed by the chipset identifier application) and downloaded the relevant drivers for the chipset and graphics accelerator. Hmmm--- result (unfortunately it's a german OS, so I can only give the gist of the error message) "your system does not meet the minimum requirements for this installation...quitting".

    This happens with chipset, AND graphics drivers.

    I tried the NVIDIA graphics driver that comes as an option (GeForce 8400GS) ..no boffiny guys helped me :( .. but that message was that the "relevant hardware was not found". So now I am stuck. I can't use the stupid thing with Vista (on our Server 2003 SB network which is configured in a "special" way) and I can't watch the slow refresh speed of the screen... PLEASE... IF there is any was aside from resetting to VISTA and returning the thing... please help me!!! :)
     
  13. boruta

    boruta Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  14. Lise

    Lise Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi Boruta,

    thanks for the advice... however still no luck. I have previously tried the matrix manager driver from Intel (tried it again anyway) and it gives the same message as the chipset driver "your system does not meet the minimum requirements for the installation of this software"...

    I tried the other file you linked to, this installed no problems, but I guess without the chipset and matrix drivers there is no real use? It didn't do anything obvious...

    Have I done something else wrong? Maybe installing the drivers in the wrong order has caused a problem? Should I start the xp installation again and go through the drivers installation with the chipset and matrix managers at the start? Would this help or just take up 3 hours of time and achieve the same results???

    And why does the NVIDIA driver say that the hardware was not found if there is an NVIDIA sticker on the laptop and the Intel X3100 Graphics Accelerator driver also doesn't work? I don't think it is the acer ATI option (because I also tried this driver!)... I'm sure I've made a mistake somewhere with this install...but what?
     
  15. rsrcomputer

    rsrcomputer Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  16. boruta

    boruta Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Lise in first link is a chipset driver for intel 965 and second for matrix… If you got trough with first you should have drivers for chipset installed.
    Nvidia is another story. Go to nvidia www and download driver for desktop version of your card. Then from laptopvideo2go.com get modified inf file. Next you have to extract driver and delete nv4_disp.dll, and paste file from laptopvideo2go.com. Don’t forgot to change name of modified dll file to nv4_disp.dll. During installation driver is asking for some oem…dll file. Google it and download. It works for me.
     
  17. Lise

    Lise Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I know it's really late, but I just wanted to say thanks so much for the help guys.... The end result: It works!! I went to laptiovideo2go and learnt about the modded inf files... then I was able to get the graphics driver working... no problem... after this I modified the inf for the wireless driver (who knows why THAT didnt work) myself... I changed the compatibility from 1 to 2... and this worked! (no idea if what the 1 and 2 represent, but obviously the compatibility was wrong before because the same stupid messages about not meeting the minimum requirements or no hardware that matches was coming up when I tried to install the right driver!!!).... so, again, thanks for your help!!!
    :)
     
  18. SkyTTeN

    SkyTTeN Newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello i got the same problem i try to downgrade vista to xp i will hear about anyone some can help me?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page