1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

what does "Video BIOS Shadowed" means?

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by irkan, Dec 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. irkan

    irkan Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    title says it all

    I get this phrase whenever i open my laptop "Video BIOS Shadowed" is it a good thing or a bad thing? and what is it technically?

    you can explain it in details np i can follow up :p

    thanx
     
  2. TurbodTalon

    TurbodTalon Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,372
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,048
    Everything I'm reading on the web about that is bad. Is your laptop booting up normally and everything, or is this before the OS boots?
     
  3. Harryboiyeye

    Harryboiyeye Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    216
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    718
    I also get it as well when I'm booting and it's at the BIOS boot part.
     
  4. namaiki

    namaiki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,867
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,920
    I believe it just means that a copy of the Video BIOS is stored in system RAM so that it can be accessed faster; not that I know when exactly it needs to be accessed, and I might be wrong.
     
  5. CptXabaras

    CptXabaras Overclocked, Overvolted, Liquid Cooled

    Reputations:
    879
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,176
  6. dajohu

    dajohu Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    410
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,185
    Lol, we don't have much choice, it's enabled by default and no way to change it in the BIOS. We ALL have both our system BIOS and video BIOS shadowed. During boot up you can pause the screen at just the right time you can catch it where it says it. Many times desktop BIOS's allow you to control it, but most modern laptops do not give you any control over it.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. irkan

    irkan Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    thanx for the link rep+

    I am sure there should be a way to disable it.

    now thats the Video Bios (we know that best if its disabled unless you play doom on dos, Lol)

    what about the normal BIOS? is shadowing it worth doing?

    and if anyone wants to see where it says "Video Bios SHadowed" put your batteries one, and run your laptop without plugging the AC, you will see that the screen will stop and says "its better for you to plug in the AC bla bla for best performance " then you can see it.

    its important to note that before i installed the latest Dell VBIOS i didnt see this message (or did i?)

    edit: dajohu already put a screenshot of the message
     
  8. The0ne

    The0ne Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Shadowing is a old technique and if I remember correctly should not hinder any performance at all. I remember testing it quite a bit when it was first introduced and not noticing any impact whatsoever.

    I haven't read the article yet but I usually turn any type of shadowing off now. We've gone passed having to do that I think. :)
     
  9. irkan

    irkan Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    any idea on how to do it in our machines? R2? (i.e. disabling shadowing)

    I have checked the advanced settings in the BIOS and i didnt find anything related to recaching / shadowing / etc ? let alone the VBIOS shadowing
     
  10. mtness

    mtness loitering

    Reputations:
    366
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,612
    does it really matter?...mine has said that since day one and it still runs flawlessly, i live by the moto "if it ain't broke don't fix it" :)
     
Similar Threads: does Video
Forum Title Date
Alienware 17 and M17x NEED HELP DESPERATELY - 6990m to 780m doesn't work Mar 16, 2015
Alienware 17 and M17x Alienware 17 HDD - replaceable? Which sound-card does it have? Feb 18, 2015
Alienware 17 and M17x Audio output doesn't switch when headphones are connected/disconnected? Dec 20, 2014
Alienware 17 and M17x Does it do for my alienware m17 r4? Dec 5, 2014
Alienware 17 and M17x Why does my new AW17 beep Nov 30, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page