What does "Enable InstantResume' do

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by Paul386, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul386

    Paul386 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    When I click this nothing happens. From what I understand it is suppose to keep my network connection alive when I close the lit (put the laptop to sleep), however there is no indication that it is on or off. For example, when you click "Enable InstantResume" it doesn't become "Disable InstantResume".

    I wonder that it is working sometimes (even though I don't want it on right now) because when asleep my battery drains much faster than it normally would.
     
  2. Paul386

    Paul386 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Bump!!!!!!
     
  3. Paul386

    Paul386 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Bump!!!!!!!
     
  4. equinoxe07

    equinoxe07 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Same behaviour on my x301 and T61.
    Any help ?
     
  5. mikec

    mikec Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Paul386,

    From Menos in another thread:

    "'Instant Resume' simply delays the close lid action, turns off the display and, if set, locks the account. InstantResume is configurable and can be turned on/off depending on the wi-fi network at hand.
    I turned this feature off at home, and left on in office."

    So it is not a "faster" version of sleep/resume - it just delays when sleep kicks in, so if you close the lid and move to a difference conference room, you are still "on".
     
  6. pk_volt

    pk_volt Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hi there,

    so isn't this bad for the harddrive if your computer is still on and you're moving around?
     
  7. Paul386

    Paul386 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I understand this now. When I press "Enable Instant Resume" nothing changes and the option doesn't change to "Disable Instant Resume". In other words the "button" doesn't seem to function.
     
  8. davidixon

    davidixon Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You need to have ThinkVantage Active Protection System installed for InstandResume to function properly.

    I had issues trying to get it to work when I first got my T410 and found that bit of information buried in Power Manager's Help file.
     
  9. Paul386

    Paul386 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hmmm... I prefer not to use Active Protection System because I have a SSD.
     
  10. infinus

    infinus Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    122
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If you have an SSD I would imagine there wouldn't be too much benifit of instant resume considering how fast the machine should come out of sleep.
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page