Weird HDMI output issues from laptop

Discussion in 'MSI' started by stephen0205, Mar 31, 2020.

  1. stephen0205

    stephen0205 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi guys, long time looker first time poster. Looking or some help if anyone can.



    So i have a laptop , msi gs40 6qe, yeah its a tad older but still works a treat, has the nvidia 970m inside it, been gta v mostly on it and dabbling with other stuff too. But recently my partner had wanted to play gta V as well, so i thought , perfect excuse to get a new tv and have a go with it on the big screen.



    So bought a nice new hisense tv 55 inches, the B7500, cant complain for the pennies, But having a few issues with hdmi out.



    So upon first plugging it in the screen shows but its a green overlay ontop of it, looks like a screen fault kinda, tried a few times, nada still green, Bought new hdmi 2.0 leads and tried again, only outputting at 1080, looks scalled correctly but again green colour issue.



    Plug it into my benq monitor 24 inches, works fine on either cable.#



    So wondered if it was the tv, cant be the fire stick works fine.



    So got the missus laptop, plugged it in and first try nice big monitor. Hmmm ok



    Try mine again and wola it works. We sat and played gta v for hours great stuff. However, following day we go to turn it on, same issue, so again, plug hers in, works fine, back time mines, seems to fix the green screen issue. So im assuming its something to do with the HDCP. And some how her laptop being connected corrects it.



    So i uninstalled all gpu drivers, intel ones as well, chipset also. Used DDU (Display driver cleaner) and reinstalled the latest from the intel website. Same issue.



    EDIT: Also forgot, the tv dont show as audio output device when connected to hdmi either, her laptop does, and my monitor does, so im assuming its maybe driver related or something. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    also , asked the missus to get me an adaptor online as it has thunderbolt ? or mini dp , im not sure, and she ordered this ,

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Thunderb...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

    Not sure it will work but will give it a go

    also , video of it
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2020
    Kevin@GenTechPC likes this.
  2. stephen0205

    stephen0205 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Update. Uninstalled audio, chipset, nvidia driver and intel drivers, Video out now working but still no audio out

    EDIT : Weird, so going to the sound management option it does not have hdmi listed as output device, on my pc it shows nvidia hdmi out
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2020
  3. senso

    senso Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    366
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    432
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Check if there is any firmware update for the TV.
    What is your missus gf laptop (specs)?

    Are you doing full driver install?

    What does the Nvidia control panel says about the DHCP status?
    make sure you set the output to full range, because it defaults to limited range and it makes a difference in the colours and black levels.
     
  4. stephen0205

    stephen0205 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    ........................................
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2020
  5. stephen0205

    stephen0205 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi there, tv fully up to date.

    Her laptop is an acer nitro 5 with a ryzen 2500u and rx560x and works fully with no issues.

    I am, i removed , uninstalled all intel / audio / nvidia drivers, both manually and using DDU.

    I cant seem to see anywhere in nvidia control panel mentioning this, seems to have loads of options missing compared to my desktop, like its limited. But i got the driver and the geforce experience and used that to update the driver too.
     
  6. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,012
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Trophy Points:
    331
    What about the BIOS/EC firmware for your notebook? Are they up-to-date?
    https://www.msi.com/Laptop/support/gs40-6qe-phantom#down-bios

    Also, what version of Intel graphics driver did you install? Please also try the latest version from station-drivers.
    https://www.station-drivers.com/index.php?lang=en
     
  7. Franky Jain

    Franky Jain Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    The s
    the symptom seems like the HDMI connector wire was broken, better you bring it to service center for repair.
     
  8. stephen0205

    stephen0205 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hi guy, i have the latest from intel website, using the intel command centre software, i was from the auto detect tool, so it says im on gpu driver 26.20.100.7985 (its an intel hd 530)

    My motherboard has the latest bios from the website, version e14a1IMS.113

    And lastly nvidia driver from geforce experience auto detect 445.75 released 03/23/2020

    @ other dude, na , the thing has usb type c and display port out, as long as one works with audio and video im happy, i do believe its a driver issue, as the laptop is plagued with them
     
    Kevin@GenTechPC likes this.
  9. Kevin@GenTechPC

    Kevin@GenTechPC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,012
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Might be the HDMI connector then? Is it still under warranty?
     
  10. stephen0205

    stephen0205 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Na no where near, its about 5 years old now, still excellent condition, it has had the network card replaced due to burned out (common apparently cause its directly under a heat pipe. Could be faulty, hoping the display adaptor arrives soon to try it out. Missus finally let me install gta on her laptop so shes now using that on the tv, still i want a work around for mines
     
Loading...

Share This Page