Warning: High CPU Usage with the latest Logitech Gaming Software

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Phoenix, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. Phoenix

    Phoenix Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    6,319
    Messages:
    13,649
    Likes Received:
    16,412
    Trophy Points:
    931
    So I just formatted and installed all my drivers/apps but I noticed my laptop fans spinning up even though I wasn't touching the laptop.

    I then launched task manager and noticed logitechg_discord.exe was causing all this. It was using around 25-30% CPU constantly.

    I then ended the task.

    Now to stop this from happening again, Download Everything Portable, extract it and then launch it, this is a much better search tool than the Windows built in search and is much faster.

    Type: logitechg_discord.exe in the search bar on the top inside Everything

    Once it finds that app, right click on it and select path, you will then see that logitechg_discord.exe

    Just go up one folder, and delete the entire applet folder

    Nothing will go wrong with your Logitech device, this will only prevent the so called lighting per app for Discord (who needs that :rolleyes:)

     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017 at 7:55 PM
    TOAA likes this.
  2. macmyc

    macmyc Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So i made a good move disabling it when prompted to . I believe you can still do disable it from Discord settings even if you accidentally enabled it the first time (?).
     
    Phoenix likes this.
  3. Phoenix

    Phoenix Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    6,319
    Messages:
    13,649
    Likes Received:
    16,412
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I don't have discord installed so when I installed the Logitech Gaming Software and rebooted, I didn't get any prompts or even know that there is such an applet until I noticed the abnormal CPU usage.
     
    macmyc likes this.
  4. macmyc

    macmyc Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Woah, how is it even possible that the add-on got activated if Discord wasn't even installed? I received the notification (after updating the logitech suite ofc) because Discord was actually installed and running otherwise i would've been clueless until now. Good to know!
     
  5. Phoenix

    Phoenix Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    6,319
    Messages:
    13,649
    Likes Received:
    16,412
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Because.........Logitech

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Papusan

    Papusan BGABOOK's = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    4,445
    Messages:
    12,164
    Likes Received:
    14,923
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I bought two brand new Logitech mouses last month. And I haven't touched the software. Why should I?:rolleyes:
     
    Phoenix likes this.
  7. Phoenix

    Phoenix Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    6,319
    Messages:
    13,649
    Likes Received:
    16,412
    Trophy Points:
    931
    1) To use surface turning so make your mouse more precise with your current mousepad [​IMG]

    2) to update your mouse firmware and make it faster :rolleyes:

    3) to control your mouse lights if your mouse sports any lights

    4) to configure mouse buttons and settings
     
    Papusan likes this.
  8. Papusan

    Papusan BGABOOK's = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    4,445
    Messages:
    12,164
    Likes Received:
    14,923
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I know it's new firmware ready. Will the mouse firmware, software and the lights make better results in Cinbench or Wprime?:rolleyes: Even in Firestrike?
     
    Phoenix likes this.
  9. Phoenix

    Phoenix Super Tweaker

    Reputations:
    6,319
    Messages:
    13,649
    Likes Received:
    16,412
    Trophy Points:
    931
    An instructional video has been added to the OP. [​IMG]
     
    Papusan likes this.
  10. Papusan

    Papusan BGABOOK's = That sucks!! STAHP! Dont buy FILTH...

    Reputations:
    4,445
    Messages:
    12,164
    Likes Received:
    14,923
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I installed this trash for this firmware update. And I checked the cpu load due of this Bloated trash when I first was there, but I can clearly see that your BGA have to work harder:eek:
    PS. Now it's Time for uninstall the whole package:D
    upload_2017-6-21_4-0-45.png

    Edit. @Phoenix Not all is happy with this Discord Trash And see Daily News Point:vbbiggrin:
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017 at 10:48 PM
    Phoenix likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page