VPCZ1 + BIOS HACK Windows 10 clean install

Discussion in 'VAIO / Sony' started by anytimer, Aug 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anytimer

    anytimer Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    201
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    81
    This is the thread for VPCZ1 users who have set the switching mode to STATIC. I will try to keep this updated with your tips, suggestions and links.

    If you are taking advantage of the free upgrade from Windows 7 or 8 offer, you have to do an in-place upgrade of your existing OS and get Windows 10 activated. Once that is done, you can proceed with a clean install using DVD or USB installation media, which is what this thread is about.

    With the MODE switch set to STAMINA, install Windows 10 from external boot media - DVD or USB.
    When you select the partition on which Windows will be installed, format it to get the clean install.
    Once Windows is installed, Windows Update will get you most of the remaining drivers. If you are doing this only once, or if you have a fast internet connection, don't bother installing those drivers yourself.
    For the rest of the drivers that need to be installed, go to the Sony support page for your model and download them from there, or as advised below. I go here: http://www.sony-asia.com/support/product/VPCZ115GG

    WU - Let Windows Update install it for you.
    Sony - Download from the Sony support page for your model.
    CM-7 - compatibility mode for Windows 7
    CM-7a - compatibility mode for Windows 7 with administrator privileges.

    1. Chipset driver. Not really needed, but does no harm. Get it from Intel.
    2. Intel HD Graphics. WU If it is taking a long time to download, install the rest of the stuff while you wait.
    3. Realtek High Definition Audio. WU
    4. Ricoh MS Card driver. Sony.
    5. Ricoh SD Card driver. Sony.
    6. Pointing driver - Synaptics. WU
    7. SFEP. (Sony firmware extension parser). Sony.
    8. Bluetooth driver. Let Windows Update install this for you.
    9. IME (Intel Management Engine Interface). Get it from here:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/do...r-Intel-5-Series-Chipset-Based-Desktop-Boards
    This doesn't do much in a standalone scenario except get rid of the PCI Simple Communications Controller entry in Device Manager. Avoid if you don't care.
    10. Setting Utility Series. Sony.
    11. Sony Shared Library. Sony.
    12. VAIO Event Service. Sony. Reboot.
    12a. VAIO Event Service update. Sony. CM-7a
    13. VAIO Control Center. Sony. Reboot.
    13a. VAIO Control Center update. Sony. CM-7a
    14. Battery checker. Sony.
    15. VAIO Power Management. Sony. CM-7 Reboot.
    15a. VAIO Power Management update. Sony. CM-7 Reboot.
    16. VAIO Smart Network (optional). Sony. CM-7 Shows up in tray after reboot.
    17. Fingerprint reader. Get it here: http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/where-can-i-download-protector-suite-12.745182/#post-9747218
    EDIT: see third post below for fresh instructions.

    Download the NVIDIA GeForce driver for 300M from here: http://www.geforce.com/drivers
    Download ComputerCowboy's patcher from here: http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/latest-vpc-z1-330m-drivers-for-the-bios-hack-people.602497/
    Run the driver installer. It will fail, but it will leave behind the extracted files in c:\NVIDIA\
    Run the patcher. Patch VGA or 3D Vision, whichever you prefer.
    Enable test mode - the patcher does it the easy way, but you can do it through Windows if you prefer.
    Now flip the MODE switch to SPEED and reboot.

    After reboot, browse to C:\NVIDIA\ and drill down until you come to the \DisplayDriver\341.74\Win8_WinVista_Win7_64\International folder. (the driver version will depend on which driver version you downloaded). Run setup. Click 'install this software anyway' when prompted about the unsigned driver.
    Recommended: do a custom install, clearing old settings. De-select the 3D Vision driver if you don't need it (I don't have a 3D monitor).

    Enjoy.

    I need to adjust the settings for the touch pad as per my preference. Double click the tray icon to bring up the settings dialog.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
    Pilarota, galaxyge and KrazyStuff like this.
  2. anytimer

    anytimer Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    201
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
    Pilarota likes this.
  3. anytimer

    anytimer Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    201
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    81
    The fingerprint reader doesn't work out of the box, which is why I recommended using an older driver and software. Here's how I got mine to work, finally, with the Windows Biometric Foundation WBF.

    1. If you have installed the old software and driver, uninstall it.
    2. In device manager, uninstall and delete the fingerprint reader driver and let Windows reinstall it.
    3. Press Win+R to bring up the 'run' box. Type gpedit.msc and click OK to bring up the group policy editor.
    4. Navigate to Computer configuration -> Administrative templates - > Windows components -> Biometrics.
    5. Double click 'Allow the use of biometrics' and select 'enabled' and click OK.
    6. Double click 'Allow users to log on using biometrics' and select 'enabled' and click OK.
    7. Close Group policy editor. Reboot.
    8. Start menu -> Settings -> Accounts. Click 'Sign in options'.
    9. Set up a PIN. I'm not sure why Microsoft felt this step was necessary, but that's how it is.
    10. Now the Windows Hello options to use fingerprints will be enabled. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
    Pilarota likes this.
  4. No_WaY_Sa

    No_WaY_Sa Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    what about recovery partition , will not be affected?
     
  5. anytimer

    anytimer Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    201
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Not sure. Windows 10 creates its own recovery partition out of the partition that you install it to - in my case it created an 800 MB partition for itself and put drivers in it so when I did the clean install, the driver installation phase of setup went really fast. It did not, however, install any of the drivers mentioned above - just what's bundled with the ISO. Whether or not it will mess with any pre-existing recovery partition, I could not say. You should create recovery disks before installing Windows 10 if you really want to keep your old OS.
     
  6. NuShrike

    NuShrike Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This doesn't work for me in RAID mode. I've tried about 12 times to boot Windows 10 setup (and Windows 8) in different ways.

    All I see is the blue Windows logo, the spinning loader-cursor, and the hard-drive light blinking and that's it.

    If I switch it to AHCI mode, it gets into Windows 10 setup, but then, I can't install to my raid SSDs, catch-22.

    0xC1900101 - 0x20017 in SAFE_OS w error during BOOT
     
  7. anytimer

    anytimer Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    201
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Are you upgrading or doing a clean install? From a DVD or USB?

    If you are taking advantage of the free upgrade from Windows 7 or 8 offer, you have to do an in-place upgrade of your existing OS and get Windows 10 activated. Once that is done, you can proceed with a clean install using DVD or USB installation media, which is what this thread is about.

    A clean install involves formatting your drive. A change in mode, from AHCI to RAID might involve deleting the partitions on your drive and starting over.

    Ok. Now that those disclaimers are out of the way, are you saying that when you boot from DVD or USB and install Windows in RAID mode, you just see the 'press any key to run from CD or DVD', then the Windows loading rotating circle, and the HDD LED blinks, but nothing else happens? How long does this go on? Windows setup is trying to make sense of your RAID configuration, so it could take a while while it tries out different drivers and then examines your drives for errors and any operating systems there, before showing you the screen where you choose 'upgrade' or 'custom'.
     
    Pilarota likes this.
  8. papaFX

    papaFX Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This guide really helped me on my Win10 install on a VPCZ13M9.
    I suggest adding version numbers on each driver just to be sure.
     
    anytimer likes this.
  9. NuShrike

    NuShrike Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So, yes to all. I've tried (with hacked BIOS and graphics set static, stamina [aka Intel]):
    * MediaCreationToolx64.exe upgrade
    * MediaCreationToolx64.exe install to USB drive, then fresh-boot
    * MediaCreationToolx64.exe install to DVD iso, then fresh-boot
    * slipstream latest RST v14.5.0.1081 into boot.wim index 1 and 2, and fresh-boot
    * bcdedit on USB drive to "boot log" and show "os boot information" on "Windows Setup" boot (shows nothing) from clean-boot
    * Windows Update upgrade to Windows 10 and reboot (tried twice times)
    * waited 15 minutes after Windows logo
    * waited 6 hours after Windows logo
    * boot Windows 8.1 setup from USB drive, stalls in same place as Windows 10 setup
    * boot Windows 7 setup from USB drive, works fine and loads the setup UI

    * Upgrade reinstall Windows 7 Pro onto Windows 7 Pro, then Windows Update upgrade to Windows 10
    * sfc /scannow in between the various above sessions
    * trolled ntbtlog.txt and cbs.log for something obvious
    * waited on forced chkdsk after each time Win10 touched the Raid0 SSDs (smells like it's not using the RAID driver with the chkdsk corruption)
    * messed with IDE configuration to turn off 32-bit I/O, block I/O, and ultra100

    edit:
    * turned off Link Power Management in the RST UI. No setting available in the bios for LPM.

    I can't get even get into Windows Setup after a fresh-boot to choose between Upgrade or Clean install.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
  10. anytimer

    anytimer Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    201
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    81
    I think you now need to break the RAID and rebuild it from scratch. Man, I'm glad I don't have RAID.
     
    NuShrike likes this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page