Vostro 3450 - 16GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by H.A.L. 9000, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. H.A.L. 9000

    H.A.L. 9000 308 Negra Arroyo Lane

    Reputations:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Basically what I'm wondering is can I use two 8GB sticks in a Vostro 3450 with the i5? ark.intel says the 2410m supports up to 16GB, but is there a BIOS limitation? Has anyone even tried this before?
     
  2. LokiWolf

    LokiWolf Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It should work. It has the same basic chipset as the E6420. I am running 16GB in an E6420 with no issues.
     
  3. onexeyed

    onexeyed Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Good to know. I received my Vostro 3450 yesterday. Currently have 4GB at the moment.
     
  4. H.A.L. 9000

    H.A.L. 9000 308 Negra Arroyo Lane

    Reputations:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Thanks guys! My 16GB should be in soon and I'll post with results.
     
  5. azrash

    azrash Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi there, how did it go? did it work?
     
  6. [GMT]Demolisher

    [GMT]Demolisher Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Dell Vostro 3450 does work with 16 gb of ram. Although I only have 12 gb in mine so far (an 8gb and a 4gb dimm), I can say with reasonable confidence that if the vostro accepts an 8gb dimm, then it will also accept 2 8gb dimms.
     
  7. jaug1337

    jaug1337 de_dust2

    Reputations:
    1,875
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,019
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Almost a year later. No results :p
     
  8. [GMT]Demolisher

    [GMT]Demolisher Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm sure it would work perfectly fine with 16gb.
     
  9. Dellienware

    Dellienware Workstations & Ultrabooks

    Reputations:
    215
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Why 16gb.... on a Vostro... LOL
     
  10. tijo

    tijo Sacred Blame Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,933
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9,534
    Likes Received:
    619
    Trophy Points:
    281
    You'd be surprised at the amount of things that can eat RAM and fast. Some may not be that CPU intensive either.

    One small simulation running that isn't too much for a dual core, another one where I'm working on the geometry, monitoring software, browser with a dozen tabs, media player, e-mail client and I've hit over 8GB right there. Add some pdfs, excel and word files to that sometimes too.

    My average Joe load when I'm not working doesn't break over 4GB most of the time, my "gaming Joe" workload doesn't break over 8GB. As for the more intensive simulations, I think the amount of RAM I have installed in my laptop now says it all.
     
Similar Threads: Vostro 3450
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Question about the Vostro 3450 Aug 19, 2012
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Vostro 3450, 3550, 3750 internal channels SATA II or III? Aug 3, 2012
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Vostro 3450 static screen Apr 7, 2012
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision CPU in Vostro 3450 and Latitude E5420 Mar 14, 2012
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Vostro 3450 WWAN add mod Feb 13, 2012

Share This Page