1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Volume button sound - How to turn down?

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by Bullit, Nov 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bullit

    Bullit Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hello. Is there any way to turn down the tick tick sound that the volume drag button makes?
     
  2. mattmjb0188

    mattmjb0188 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes, go into the bios and disable it :D
     
  3. sean473

    sean473 Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Don't listen to him , he's talking rubbish.. just go and uninstall the Hp quicktouch drivers... they seem to be the ones making the sounds..
     
  4. mattmjb0188

    mattmjb0188 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Indiana
    OK first off, unistalling quicktouch would also work but disabling it in the bios will not remove the software designed for the buttons. ITs better to disable the noise in the bios.
     
  5. Th3_uN1Qu3

    Th3_uN1Qu3 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Seconded. Why such an option would be put in the BIOS, hell knows, but that's the way it is, and it works.
     
  6. abaddon4180

    abaddon4180 Notebook Virtuoso

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Clicking on the volume icon in the tray and muting HP MediaSmart in the mixer works fine for me.
     
  7. Bullit

    Bullit Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thank you all. In the end i have found a way that just show how the idiots that made HP software are incompetents or evil. After using the quick launch buttons just for luck i clicked in "open volume mixer" and a "Quick Launch Volume" appeared in it , besides the usual "speakers" and "system sounds". I turned down the volume and that was it. Btw the "Quick Launch Volume" just disapeared and i can't find a way to call it . So i don't know the sequence that made it appear.

    Edit: i don't have any HP mediasmart in the Volume Mixer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page