vizio rgb invalid format

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by serenityconsulting, Nov 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. serenityconsulting

    serenityconsulting Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I want to use a Win7 Pro x64 notebook with my new top of the line regional LED backlight 47" Vizio HDTV. The notebook has a VGA port, but not a HDMI port. The TV has a like port (called RGB) for attaching a computer. The notebook automatically detects the native resolution of almost any flat panel monitor - however it will NOT automatically detect the native resolution of my Vizio TV. I see this as a shortcoming with the TV.

    My Nvidia video card won't let me manually assign a resolution unless a monitor is plugged in. When I plug in the TV via the VGA port, all I get is "Invalid Format" ... it means the TV is telling the notebook that it's native resolution is a format it actually cannot support.

    My notebook's built-in panel only supports up to 1280X800, and the TV supports 1920X1080 (1080p), but the next lowest commonly supported value is 1024X768 (60Hz used for all resolutions). So this is my only solution so far...

    I set the notebook display to 1024X768, then enable screen cloning. The same image then shows on the TV. Next I EXTEND the desktop across both screens, and make the TV my primary monitor. I can then independently set the resolution for each screen - my notebook to its native 1280X800, and the TV to its native 1920X1080.

    This works fine so long as both screens are in use. But if I close the notebook (it is set to NOT sleep because of this) so I only have the Vizio TV, the notebook again tries to read the native resolution (forgetting the resolution I just set) and again I get "Invalid Format". Vizio needs to do a firmware upgrade.
     
  2. H.A.L. 9000

    H.A.L. 9000 308 Negra Arroyo Lane

    Reputations:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,239
    Likes Received:
    269
    Trophy Points:
    251
    And you've updated your video drivers? What video card do you have? I see this as being more a driver issue with your notebook not recognizing the EDID signature from the Vizio.
     
  3. olyteddy

    olyteddy Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    468
    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Yeah, I've got a 6 year old notebook that connects flawlessly to my Vizio XVT472SV by VGA (ATI 9600 Mobility). I also have an Acer Revo (nVidia ION chipset) that hasn't had a problem with VGA either. I now have the Revo connected HDMI and the TV still doesn't miss a beat (or fail to adapt to whatever resolution I throw at it) so I'd say you've got a problem with your laptop or video driver...
     
  4. Zeuxidamas

    Zeuxidamas Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Does the laptop have a Presentation hotkey? (usually a Fn + F-something; mine is F4). Sometimes this sends your video over to a television in the proper format. I would also check and see if you have control over the aspect ratio setting. Your notebook's native res of 1280 X 800 is a 16:10 aspect ratio, your television's 1920 X 1080 is a 16:9 aspect ratio. While it is not unusual to see dual-screen setups setups hiccup their way to the desired alignment, I've seen the aspect ratio delta cause particularly wonky behavior even over HDMI. 1024 X 768 is a 4:3 aspect ratio. Seems like at certain points, either your PC is not recognizing your TV as a widescreen display, or the reverse (TV is not seeing or is not accepting a widescreen input from your PC).

    Check your video widget or configuration app. There may be a toggle to force the video to always maintain the same aspect ratio regardless of display. This might make things more stable in transition, or at least reduce the configuration steps you have to go through when transitioning states.
    - Vr/Zeuxidamas..>>
     
  5. timmixzj

    timmixzj Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I got more deep understanding about this part, Thanks for your sharing! It is exactly what I need.
     
    Lasted edited by : May 6, 2015
Similar Threads: vizio invalid
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Invalid Partition Table? Mar 8, 2015
Windows OS and Software Why do I repeatedly have this "Invalid URL" problem? Mar 28, 2014
Windows OS and Software Installing Windows 7 off USB Flash Drive = "Invalid Partition Table" HELP! Nov 6, 2010
Windows OS and Software Windows 7 activation error: invalid product key Sep 12, 2010
Windows OS and Software Activation Key Invalid Jul 27, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page