1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

VISTA: Why do i need permission to delete a file?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by lemonspeaker, Nov 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lemonspeaker

    lemonspeaker Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    441
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i want to delete a folder on my desktop but for some reason i am not able to. it says i need permission to delete the file.
    i have already disabled UAC. How to i take complete control over my computer and have it quit asking me for things that i want to do when i am the only person using my computer and i am not running on a guest account or anything! its so frustrating!!!
     
  2. Storm3016

    Storm3016 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    55
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You probably don't have ownership right's over that folder, just change the ownership to yourself and you can delete it. Just right click on the folder, choose properties, open the security tab and choose modify. I think you'll know what to do from there ;)
     
  3. sathyaterry

    sathyaterry Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Try logging in the safe mode.
     
  4. JCMS

    JCMS Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    455
    Messages:
    4,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Yes you probably don't have the ownership for some reasons, it might also be that the folder is on read-only mode.

    Also, is your windows up to date?
     
  5. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    An Administrator account in Vista does not have full "super-admin" like it would have had in XP. I found a registry tweak that adds a right-click option into Windows Explorer to "take ownership". The process involves more than just permissions, and while it is not complex, it is simpler to automate than to manually perform.
     
  6. bmwrob

    bmwrob Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,591
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Give Unlocker a shot. I've been able to delete everything I've tried with it so far.
     
  7. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    The right-click registry extension to Explorer for Vista is here.
     
  8. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Yes, i too agree with just getting Unlocker instead of using registry hacks. It's small and i used it even in my xp install to delete some stubborn files. It's been doing wonders for my vista install.
     
  9. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I would MUCH rather run registry hacks (that I can view in text form) than some executable that provides no visibility into it's workings.
     
  10. lemonspeaker

    lemonspeaker Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    441
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    thanks guy!! very helpful! im just gonna use the unlocker!
     
  11. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Alright lemonspeaker, let us know if you need anymore help.
     
  12. theZoid

    theZoid Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    1,324
    Messages:
    5,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Is anyone using Unlocker in Vista? Isn't working for me.
     
  13. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    I use it and i have vista. I works perfectly fine. What's wrong?
     
  14. theZoid

    theZoid Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    1,324
    Messages:
    5,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    I'm getting an error debug privileges....when I went to the faq it linked me to MS to set debug privileges which I believe was XP....maybe I didn't try hard enough :D I've got a very stubborn file, and I've owned it with full privileges, reset attributes, etc and it won't go :D
     
  15. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    All you have to do is right click, choose unlocker, then choose the action you want to do. Are you doing that?
     
  16. theZoid

    theZoid Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    1,324
    Messages:
    5,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Yes, when I chose unlocker with the right click, it gave me a dialog which read "Error Debug Privileges" with a close button, that's it.
     
  17. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Why don't you restart your pc and try again, i don't have the slightest clue as to why it's bothering you about permissions when it should just be doing what it has to do. =\
     
  18. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Since you don't know what Unlocker is really doing under the covers, why don't you just right-click on it and chose Run as administrator so it can do whatever it does really well?
     
  19. theZoid

    theZoid Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    1,324
    Messages:
    5,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    I did that....let me try again...
     
Similar Threads: VISTA need
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Installed W8, Need Vista back Feb 29, 2012
Windows OS and Software Upgrading from Windows Vista (32-Bit), Need Help. Apr 22, 2011
Windows OS and Software Need help prepping for Vista/W7 dual-boot when W7 was there first. Sep 28, 2010
Windows OS and Software Windows Vista stopped working need some advice Jul 16, 2010
Windows OS and Software Gateway P-7805u FX (vista 64) Need Software Help Please Apr 13, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page