VIDEO EDITING laptop. What do you think?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Lambda808, Nov 8, 2020.

1. Lambda808

Lambda808 Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Hello friends. So I'm in the market for a new laptop. I'm a professional video editor / colorist working mostly in premiere pro, davinci resolve and a little after effects. Usually working with 4K footage. I travel A LOT through out the year so it's important to me to have something that is portable. I've been using Alienware for many years. Their 17" laptops. They've done alright but I'm at the point where I'm really sick of the size and weight. They're so heavy and burdonsome. I would really like to get something more light weight. My primary use is of course work (video editing) but I also really enjoy gaming. I play a lot of online competitive stuff like Overwatch and CSGO but would love to be able to play new graphics intensive games as well. I've been eyeing the newer Dell XPS 17. But would love to get your guys opinions and recommendations.

1) What is your budget?
    $2500-$3000

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    17" (potentially 15" as well)
    3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    USA

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    Video editing (premiere pro, davinci resolve, after effects). Gaming (Overwatch, CSGO, also graphics intensive games)

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    Traveling

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? (If so, please state which games or types of games?)
    Overwatch, CSGO but would also like to play graphics intensive new games.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?
    Doesn't matter. Will use mostly plugged in.

10) Would you prefer to see the notebooks you're considering before purchasing it or buying a notebook on-line without seeing it is OK?
    No