VAIO F - NVIDIA Drivers Update (197.16) for GT 330M (10DE-0A29)

Discussion in 'VAIO / Sony' started by MidtownHD, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MidtownHD

MidtownHD Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Update: NVIDIA released 197.44 drivers for notebooks(with OpenGL 4 support for Fermi GPU), GT300M only gets support up to 3.3

I used the same inf file(changing drivers' version and date, of course) and everything is working as expected.
    Just follow the same instructions if you wanna try.
    - 197.44 inf file and instructions: Midtown's 197.44 Instructions.zip (Mirrors: Megaupload, Hotfile)
    - NVIDIA's original drivers: Download for Windows 7(64-bit)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I managed to install the new NVIDIA drivers for laptops, 197.16 on my VAIO F after modifying the inf file myself for a few hours. I'm no expert, but I guess it worked out fine.

Here's the link for inf file & instructions: Midtown's 197.16 Instructions.zip

Disclaimer: I'm not responsible for any hardware/software failure.

After testing the new drivers for 24hrs:
    - No flicker at low brightness
    - No uneven brightness after pressing the "Display Off" button
    - Fan not constantly running
    - "Normal" temperature compared to Sony's "certified" graphic drivers
    - No problems after sleep/restart

I don't have PC games, so can't say anything about improvements. I'll keep using the laptop for a while to see if they're stable enough w/ my inf file.

SUCCESS
    1. mangosango - Laptop Forums and Notebook Computer Discussion - View Single Post - Official Sony VAIO F Series Owners lounge *PART 2*
    2. MelodyMaster - Laptop Forums and Notebook Computer Discussion - View Single Post - Official Sony VAIO F Series Owners lounge *PART 2*