Urgent Help, Restore Acer 5630 back to manufacture state

Discussion in 'Acer' started by MulMul, May 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MulMul

    MulMul Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all

    Is there a way to restore my Acer 5630 back to its original manufacture state??

    The hidden partition is still in place, in the "Computer Management" under "Administrator tools" it show as EISA configuration and nothing set on the File system.

    Now i cannot restore using that hidden image due to missing eRecovery.

    Is there a way to reboot the laptop and trigger the eRecovery during bootup so i can restore my laptop bk with the hidden image?

    Thx regards
     
  2. Evolution

    Evolution Vox Sola

    Reputations:
    413
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Once you still have the recovery partition in place then it is quite straight forward. All you have to do is press ALT+F10 at the post screen. The post screen is the first screen you see when you turn your notebook on, i.e the screen that says "Acer". Once you press those 2 keys together the notebook will boot to the recovery partition and allow you to start the recovery process to restore your computer to factory spec.

    Hope this helps you...
     
  3. MulMul

    MulMul Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I tried that but it didnt take me to the recovery partition. Is it possible the MBR in the hiden partition got corrupted?

    I Pressed that all i get is constant bleeping from the laptop and took me to the OS
     
  4. misslucybelle

    misslucybelle Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    If it is still under warranty, send it back to Acer. I'm having the same issues, 2nd time around, and the Acer tech I spoke with said it was hardware issues. Goodluck.
     
  5. Evolution

    Evolution Vox Sola

    Reputations:
    413
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    AFAIK when you have the recovery partition and ALT + F10 doesn't work then yes Acer's Special MBR (that allows for alt+f10 functionality) has become corrupted or over written in some way. There is a way to fix that, but as the previous posted said if your notebook is still under warranty then you are better off contacting acer and having them fix it for you, no sense you doing it when you have a nice warranty there.
     
  6. MulMul

    MulMul Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just a little update i managed got into the ALt +F10 thing i got the following message:

    Edit Boot Option
    =============
    Edit Boot Option for: Microsoft Windows Vista
    Path: \Windows\System32\Winload.exe
    Partition: 2
    Hard disk: c47c15eo
    =============

    Then a typeable command with:

    =============
    /NOEXECUTE = OPTIN


    Any ideas what to type in the command?
     
  7. misslucybelle

    misslucybelle Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have the same issue.

    Send it back! Mine is backed up right this minute as I type this waiting for Fedex to pick-up. If you keep pressing the alt+f10 buttons, it will bring you up to the recovery. Wait to your laptop beeps several times. Only thing is Windows will not finished installing and then it is down for good.

    That is the exact same thing that has just happened with mine. I think it is the HDD is gone, but won't know until Acer takes a look at it.
     
  8. MulMul

    MulMul Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    is this command line supose to show after the ALT +F10 is pressed?
     
  9. hoggie

    hoggie old boy

    Reputations:
    316
    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    i've got to ask this, did any one burn a bootable DVD/CD's.when you first got your laptop?
    but i run XP pro and i have two choices i can Alt+F10 or boot from disk.
    and i don't have any of that stupid empowring junk on my machine :)
     
  10. bigspin

    bigspin My Kind Of Place

    Reputations:
    577
    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,774
    Likes Received:
    452
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I got the same msg i think hard is gone:mad: I replace my hard on Aspire 5920G(Just after 2 weeks from buying date).I remove my Drive and try to format it using my 2.5-Inch External Hard Drive I got blue screen on my desktop same on my sisters Notebook:eek:

    You can see my tread from here
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=136223
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page