1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

upgrading processor in my inspiron b130

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by petey1993, Jun 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ok...
    so i'm fluent with computers
    and i know my share
    but this is something thats stumped me
    i have a dell inspiron b130
    and i want a new processor
    i know its a 479-pin processor(socket, pin, w/e, you get it)
    i think my chipset is 915GML(idk if this matters lol)

    so i want somethin bigger then my 1.50ghz(cuz aarons rental is cheap)
    can i upgrade to say a core duo? since they all run on 479-pinfriend says i need a new motherboard which this one was just replaced
    and i think he's full of
    ehlp would be loved please :]
     
  2. Mastershroom

    Mastershroom wat

    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    206
    That should be Socket M...download and run CPU-Z, and post what it says your socket is.
     
  3. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    processor: intel celeron M 370

    package: socket 479 mPGA
     
  4. Commander Wolf

    Commander Wolf can i haz broadwell? Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,233
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    216
  5. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ok so i feel like an idiot
    but this means i can run a core duo?
    but ant of the socket 479 banias or dothan ones i can run?
     
  6. Commander Wolf

    Commander Wolf can i haz broadwell? Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,233
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    216
    You can't run Core Duo, Core 2 Duo, or any associated Celerons. You can only use Pentium M and Banias/Dothan Celerons. More specifically:

    Banias

    Pentium M 1.3 1300 1024 400
    Pentium M 1.4 1400 1024 400
    Pentium M 1.5 1500 1024 400
    Pentium M 1.6 1600 1024 400
    Pentium M 1.7 1700 1024 400

    Dothan

    Pentium M 710 1400 2048 400
    Pentium M 715 1500 2048 400
    Pentium M 725 1600 2048 400
    Pentium M 735 1700 2048 400
    Pentium M 745 1800 2048 400
    Pentium M 755 2000 2048 400
    Pentium M 765 2100 2048 400

    Pentium M 730 1600 2048 533
    Pentium M 740 1733 2048 533
    Pentium M 750 1866 2048 533
    Pentium M 760 2000 2048 533
    Pentium M 770 2133 2048 533
    Pentium M 780 2266 2048 533

    Banias-512

    Celeron M 310 1200 512 400
    Celeron M 320 1300 512 400
    Celeron M 330 1400 512 400
    Celeron M 340 1500 512 400

    Dothan-512

    Celeron 205 1200 512 400

    Dothan-1024

    Celeron M 350 1300 1024 400
    Celeron M 360 1400 1024 400
    Celeron M 370 1500 1024 400
    Celeron M 380 1600 1024 400
    Celeron M 390 1700 1024 400
     
  7. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    sweet :]
    lol thanks for the help commander wolf :]
     
  8. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  9. Commander Wolf

    Commander Wolf can i haz broadwell? Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,233
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    216
    You can't use that chip. It's Socket P. They label it Socket 479 because Socket P has 479 pins; it's definitely misleading. Either way, don't get a Celeron. A Dothan chip in the 730 to 780 range is most likely your best bang for buck.
     
  10. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    lol i just said that
    i was looking at the 770 and 765
    i don't wanna pay over $100 for a 780 and the 770 is like just a little lower, but like $40 on ebay haha
    thank you again
     
  11. sean473

    sean473 Notebook Prophet

    Messages:
    6,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    best solution is to buy a new laptop. No point upgrading such an obsolete one like urs.
     
  12. petey1993

    petey1993 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    i really don't want to have to buy a new one though...i'm going to at some point, but i'm just 16 lol
    don't have the money
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page