Upgrading my weak Trinity Laptop with the strongest AMD A10-5750M ES Richland APU

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Atom Ant, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. kwnc

    kwnc Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, it's using 7670m, if you disabled crossfire and run the game with high performance mode. You can see gpu usage-vram usage with gpu-z. But i'm not sure it's using all vram. Mine has 1gb vram but i messed up drivers a little bit. I just install 15,5, but if i use crossfire on, game shows total 1024mb vram, last week with 15.4 driver it was showing 1500 with crossfire on. I don't know why. Tried with 15,4, still same and if crossfire on, opening title stutter. And now with 7670m, it's using 500-700 vram in game. And shows 512mb of course.

    I will try with 3ghz, but it looks like a driver/game issue. And if your cpu usage is %100 and gpu %80, this looks bottleneck. My cpu usage is not %100 with 2,3ghz, it's showing 90~generally, sometimes %100 but fps drops happening with even %90. If you increase some game setting it will be %100 gpu usage, but this is not solution of course. Everyone says the game has good optimization but it's not i think, esp. for us.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  2. ken2guy

    ken2guy Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    for those of you updating this thread all input has been most helpful and nearing middle of 2015 ,,and amd rolling out the 6th gen apu's have decreased the price of the 5750ms to as low as $50 bucks. Now my laptop has the 4600m and im debating on wheter or not I upgrade it to the 57 or not what do you guys think?
     
  3. StrayHomeBoy

    StrayHomeBoy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Which laptop do you have? I had no luck. The 5750's slightly different architecture confused the MoBo. Best I can do is the 4600m. I have an asus K55N-DS81

    Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk
     
  4. ken2guy

    ken2guy Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    my laptop is hps' g4 series the 2029wm just from reading the many posts on this thread it sounds like it could work and there was in fact a bios update for this mobo but if there is no noticeable improve in terms of perf ill just wait until it drops down to $30 bucks!
     
  5. lc1987

    lc1987 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That really depends what your running under the hood of your laptop. If you have a ssd then yeah you will notice quite a bump up in speed but if you haven't got a ssd then invest the money in one and wait for the 5750m cus the ssd will give you the most noticeable results like night and day.

    Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
     
  6. itoffshore

    itoffshore Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    26
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    delete
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015
  7. squarll

    squarll Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your problem is the clock control on hardware level. There is no way to avoid it. But you can trick it. Use amdmsrtweaker to assign the same values to all Pstates. (example for syntax: AmdMsrTweaker.exe turbo=1 APM=1 P6=4@0.830 P5=9@1.00 P4=14@1.15 P3=17@1.25 P2=20@1.36 P1=20.5@1.4125 P0=21@1.425)By doing it there will be the same frequency and voltage in all Pstates and there will be no matter in which Pstates your CPU is. Use WIn8 or 10 to avoid synch problems after overclocking. Win7 doesn't support properly mobile amd cpus.
     
  8. itoffshore

    itoffshore Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    26
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't try this upgrade on an HP DV6Z-7200 - I was just left with a constant flashing CAPS LOCK with either the 4600M or 5750M (the same as Xcrew found with his DV6Z-7000).

    I just bought a DV6Z-7000 mobo (the heatsink has an identical part # to the DV6Z-7200 + the 7730M discrete card should run a little cooler than a 7690M).
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2015
  9. Ansarogu

    Ansarogu Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all! I just joined this place to let everyone know my experience.
    I wanted to upgrade my 6475b to the top apu, the A10 5750m from the A6 4400m. But after reading results from some of you i decided that the A10 was probably to much of a risk. But i did see some models on ebay equipped with the A8 5550m so i set out to buy one.
    I found one for $18 bucks but after buying it i noticed the the listing said A8 and the images showed an A10... I contacted the seller, no response.
    Few days later i had an A10 5750m sitting on my desk and i was sure it just wasn't gonna work.
    I followed everyone's tips and work arounds but i could not get the A10 chip to work.
    First, the normal swap. Result? No bios post.
    Second, set bios to boot mode UEFI NATIVE. Result? Bios posted but "No bootable image found" error.
    Tried to reinstall OS, nothing. Tried different bios options... Nada. I gave up for a day and i was googling just what the UEFI was.
    I realized the its a new bios, not really a mode but a WHOLE new bios. One that uses HDD in GPT partition and not MBR partition like legacy bios.
    At that moment, a massive nuclear powered lightbulb turned on and i went about installing a bootable usb drive with windows 8.1 in it (w8 has native support for uefi).
    And just like that! I installed the OS and booted up with the beautiful A10 5750m. I honestly felt like crying after 4 days of trial, error and failure. So there you go! Not a mobo/apu issue but rather a bios/OS problem.
     
    davidricardo86 and dzedi like this.
  10. davidricardo86

    davidricardo86 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    2,376
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    81

    Awesome post! I'm using a 6475b motherboard as one of my computers and in the past when I tried upgrading my 6475b laptop to A10-5750M I never did get it to work. You just renewed my hopes.

    I recently tried buying an A10-5750M ES from aliexpress for $30 but the seller mistakenly listed it when there wasn't any stock. I was pissed, thought I'd found a unicorn and figured I'd risk it again since I read the BIOS needed to be set to legacy.

    You posted this as the perfect time, now I just have to keep hunting for the APU!

    Sent from my XT1049 using Tapatalk
     
Loading...

Share This Page