1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Upgrading GPU in a G1S-X1 Possible or not???

Discussion in 'Asus' started by Saudaaii, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Saudaaii

    Saudaaii Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I just bought a G1S-X1. I want to know is it possible to upgrade the GPU in it. Comes with a Geforce 8600M GT. I would want to switch out the 8600m GT for a 8800m GT. Open to other GPU suggestions as well. Again is it possible. Someone mentioned to me that if the G1S-X1 has a MXM-slot(I have no clue) then it would be possible. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks.
     
  2. ALLurGroceries

    ALLurGroceries   Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    9,516
    Messages:
    6,804
    Likes Received:
    360
    Trophy Points:
    251
    No, it's not possible. Even though the MXM slot is there, there is no way to buy a replacement card, and even so, the specs and requirements of each card are different. Try googling mxm and you'll come up with the same answers, it's not possible unless the manufacturer explicitly supports it, and I know of none yet that do so.
     
  3. 5482741

    5482741 5482741

    Reputations:
    711
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    56
    The G1S doesn't even have the MXM (proprietary or not) slot, the GPU is connected directly to the main board; meaning no upgrading it.
     
  4. Saudaaii

    Saudaaii Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ive gotten someone to answer this for me, but I want to run it through you too....I want to upgrade the Processor as well. Im getting a good deal on the T7800 2.6 c2d. If I swap out my T7300 for the T7800 will I run into any BIOS issues? Also, will the T7800 fit perfectly without any alterations?
     
  5. adyingwren

    adyingwren Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    77
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It should fit in without any problems AFAIK...
     
Similar Threads: Upgrading G1S-X1
Forum Title Date
Asus Upgrading an old ASUS F8Sn-C1 Feb 13, 2014
Asus Upgrading Zenbook UX32VD Wifi Card May 23, 2013
Asus UX31A restore issue after upgrading factory installed Win 8 to Win Blue beta May 8, 2013
Asus [Help!] Asus K43TK problem when upgrading RAM Mar 30, 2013
Asus Upgrading Asus K52F Feb 22, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page