Upgrade to 120Hz panel in Y520...possible?

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by genexis_x, Apr 15, 2018.

  1. genexis_x

    genexis_x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Title says. If possible, what panel model would you suggest? I'm considering to do it after the warranty period ends. My current LG panel has some ghosting in fast paced games like CSGO and has OKish contrast which makes dark spots sometimes can be hard to see.
     
  2. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    385
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Your card and CPU are really really meh, so you don't see 120fps anyways, I'd suggest going for a bright and good 60hz panel instead. Will make the games run smoother.

    but to your question:
    @t456 As the lord of panels.
     
  3. genexis_x

    genexis_x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I play CSGO and DOTA 2 at low-mid settings, always get 120+FPS.
     
  4. Danishblunt

    Danishblunt Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    385
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I don't know about CS:GO but I can guarrantee you that you will not have stable 120fps in dota 2 unless you play on low 720p shadows off. Teamfights kill the FPS on your CPU.
     
  5. genexis_x

    genexis_x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm aware of this, however I'm still going for a 120Hz panel.
     
  6. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,240
    Messages:
    2,291
    Likes Received:
    1,519
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Run MonInfo and copy/paste the 'Raw data' section. We'll then check for a nice, compatible panel.
     
  7. genexis_x

    genexis_x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is this correct:

    Raw data
    00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,30,E4,33,05,00,00,00,00,00,1A,01,04,95,22,13,78,EA,A1,C5,94,59,57,8F,27,
    20,50,54,00,00,00,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,2E,36,80,A0,70,38,1F,40,30,20,
    35,00,58,C2,10,00,00,1A,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,FE,00,4C,
    47,20,44,69,73,70,6C,61,79,0A,20,20,00,00,00,FE,00,4C,50,31,35,36,57,46,36,2D,53,50,4B,33,00,BF

    Note: I adjusted some display colours, if that helps
     
  8. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,240
    Messages:
    2,291
    Likes Received:
    1,519
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Yes, perfect. It's an LP156WF6-SPK3.

    Either of these two would be great:
    The Chi-Mei beats the AUO on almost every aspect though, so try to find that one first. Same lcd was swapped by the OP in this thread, apparently with satisfactory results:
    Alienware 15 R2 gtx 980m Maxed out : not a good screen ---> swap

    Make sure to read the bits about ordering panel; there's some caveats on 'compatible' and 'panel for' in the fine-print. The OP included a link for his source of an actual GA1, so you might order one from the same supplier.

    Mind that you'll probably loose brightness control in Windows, this being a Lenovo system; panels are whitelisted in the bios on many of their systems and this aftermarket panel will certainly not be in that list. There's a workaround, involving soldering, but then the Y520 also needs to have a 120Hz panel whitelisted. If there isn't one then you'd get a 60Hz in return, kinda defeating the purpose.
     
  9. genexis_x

    genexis_x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Alright, thanks! What do you mean by this:
    Also, do you have any IPS 120Hz panel suggestions?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2018 at 5:44 AM
  10. t456

    t456 1977-09-05, 12:56:00 UTC Moderator

    Reputations:
    1,240
    Messages:
    2,291
    Likes Received:
    1,519
    Trophy Points:
    181
    That flashing a 60Hz edid to a 120Hz panel will result in losing standard 120Hz, of course. It's still capable, but you'll have to use something like CRU instead (which works by acting as an edid-override).
    Sure, but wasn't it your original aim to get rid of ghosting? You have an IPS atm and ghosting is a side-effect of that technology.
     
Loading...

Share This Page