Upgrade Thinkpad L540 or buy a new laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by D0_do, May 21, 2018.

1. D0_do

D0_do Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hello,

I currently have a Thinkpad L540 with the following configuration:

Code:
    Operating System
        Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
    CPU
        Intel Core i5 4300M @ 2.60GHz
        Haswell 22nm Technology
    RAM
        8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
        LENOVO 20AUS0BC01 (CPU Socket - U3E1)
    Graphics
        LCD 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz)
        Intel HD Graphics 4600 (Lenovo)
    Storage
        465GB Hitachi HGST HTS725050A7E6300 SCSI Disk Device (SATA)
    Optical Drives
        PLDS DVD-RW DU8A5SH SCSI CdRom Device
    Audio
        Realtek High Definition Audio
    I have been using it for last three years. But now it feels that it has started to get slow. My main usages are programming in IDEs, chrome with tons of tabs(around 30-40), some background scripts to keep my stuff in place and in sync.

What do you guys suggest shall I upgrade my current system with more RAM and an SSD? If yes, any suggestions? or Shall I buy a new/used/refurbished laptop? I'll look for a quad core with at least 16gb ram and the budget will be 1000CAD. I do not play games but I do open up VMs once in a while for development purposes.

2. Charles P. Jefferies

Charles P. Jefferies TG Lead Moderator Super Moderator

Reputations:
    The overall bottleneck in your computer is likely the hard drive. If you have a lot of apps open, the computer may run out of RAM, and will then use the hard drive as a swap disk (virtual memory). The hard drive is about 1000x slower than RAM, so ...really slow.

You could throw in an SSD - even a very inexpensive one will do - and that would make things significantly better. A clean installation of the operating system will likely do wonders to begin with.