1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Upgrade processor

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by moutardepoulet, Jul 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moutardepoulet

    moutardepoulet Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hey, I just baught a compaq cQ62, with a single core amd v-120 at 2.2ghz. Is it possible to upgrade to a dual core or possibly a quad?? thx
     
  2. nikeseven

    nikeseven Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    259
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    786
    In order to do so, you would need to match the socket (S1g4) and also be reasonably close to the TDP of the V120 (25watts). After finding one, you would then need to take apart your entire laptop, put it in, reapply thermal paste and put it all back together.
     
  3. ClanHeck

    ClanHeck Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    From lowest performance to higher (but all better performers than the V120)

    Turion II Neo K665 dual core at 15W...
    P320 dual core at 25 W
    Turion II P520 dual core 25W
    N330 and Phenom II N620 dual core at 35W might be too much
    The Phenom II P820 is triple core at 25 W
    The Phenom II 920 is quad core at 25 W

    All processors are supported by the S1g4 socket. This may not be a complete list. Now, I've never replaced a laptop's CPU, so that part of upgrading is all on you.
     
  4. moutardepoulet

    moutardepoulet Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Ok, thx i may be taking the p320 or phenom II 920. Thaught that changing cpu was a lot simpler. What thermal paste is compatible with the amd v-120?
     
  5. Charles P. Jefferies

    Charles P. Jefferies TG Lead Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    13,757
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Thermal paste is not made for any specific processor. I use Arctic Silver 5 for processors; IC Diamond is another popular choice.

    If you haven't applied thermal paste before, there is an application guide on Arctic Silver's website:
    http://www.arcticsilver.com/
    It is important to apply it the right way.
     
  6. moutardepoulet

    moutardepoulet Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Ok thx, this really helped me out. :)
     
  7. ClanHeck

    ClanHeck Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I think the toughest challenge will be physically getting to the CPU. I don't know much about laptop upgrades and getting into the guts of one. I would suggest googling opening up your particular laptop model. U-Tube might have some useful videos of someone else doing it...
     
  8. 1shado1

    1shado1 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Damn! Where were you when I asked about upgrading mine (still haven't), lol??:D
     
  9. mc00

    mc00 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    55

    I have been eying this cpu on EBAY but has been posted yet... any where else those cpu being sold?
     
  10. stamar

    stamar Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    443
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,802
    the cost of the cpu is more than a whole laptop with a better cpu already in it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page