Upgrade Acer Aspire 8935g /8940g and NVIDIA QUADRO K2100M 2GB N15P-Q3-A1 GDDR5 Video Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Acer' started by Walter1970, Mar 7, 2017.

  1. Walter1970

    Walter1970 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I am an owner 2 mainboards for models above. I bought two NVIDIA QUADRO K2100M 2GB N15P-Q3-A1 GDDR5 Video Graphics Cards. One from unknown source. Another from Dell laptop.
    [​IMG]
    First fight last night.:
    Unknown source Nvidia
    - 8940g, no start POST, switch on - switch off by itself.
    - 8935g, starting on integrated Intel graphic. Forcing to start from dedicated (multimedia button on multimedia panel, right side), 1 long signal 2 shorts on POST procedure and stop.
    Think:
    1. 8940g mainboard broken (?)
    2. NVidia is from HP laptop (?)
    What to do, what to do.
    Now waiting for Nvidia delivery from Dell laptop source.
    Any suggestions?
    Thank you.
     
  2. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,553
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Check if it has BIOS chip and if it does - flash DELL vBIOS, if it doesn't - integrate the DELL vBIOS into your system BIOS.
     
  3. Walter1970

    Walter1970 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thanks for answer. Today or tomorrow I am planning to integrate vbios into sbios. But before I need to know the source of the card.
    Did you heard somebody installed it successfully?
    What do you think about written above 8940g mainboard - switching on off itself? It is broken?
     
  4. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,553
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It runs in other systems.

    I can't tell, was it working at all before that?
     
  5. Walter1970

    Walter1970 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I bought 8940g on ebay 2 years ago. Couldn't check. The fact itself interesting me - switching on and off endless after installing components. For example, if graphic doesn't work there are beeps signals...

    NVIDIA K2100M is from HP. Thats why doesn't start. Soon I should get another one from Dell.
     
  6. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,553
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    231
    If the DELL GPU doesn't work, it's quite likely motherboard related.
     
  7. Walter1970

    Walter1970 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi
    I am stuck. How to get sBios Aspire 8935g? On the Acer web is only .exe file.(And how to insert a picture here, only url?)
    Thank you
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2017
  8. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,553
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Sorry, I can't be of help, I used the @valuxin 's guide, maybe he can help.
     
  9. valuxin

    valuxin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    126
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Here you are - latest stock sBIOS.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. darnok44

    darnok44 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    163
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    41
    According to service manual:"Search for option ROMs. One long, two short beeps on checksum failure." It looks like there's problem with the video bios since Bios is searching for option ROMs and apparently can't initiate it. I assume that Your cards nave eprom on the pcb. It should be on the left upper corner, black chip with 8 legs with some kind of painted dot on it. If You can boot up on integrated graphics with K2100m in the slot You should be able flash different vbioses onto the eprom. You have to juggle with available vbioses with hope that one will work. That's my opinion. I dig up that there are 3 vbioses available:
    #1: 80.06.68.00.03
    #2: 80.06.61.00.08
    #3: 80.06.69.00.06
    Maybe there are some others but I found those.
     
Loading...

Share This Page