Updated Broadcom USH (Unified Security Hub) Firmware

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by John Ratsey, Nov 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AndyBurns

    AndyBurns Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    How find it directly I don't know, but indirectly the new version seems to flash up a brief message "UAPP v1.10" on the pre-boot authentication screen which I don't remember happening before.
     
  2. litkaj

    litkaj Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Press [Enter] a couple times (to fail at the password-based login), the FP reader should come up.
     
  3. hulsmsc

    hulsmsc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    It does, it always has even with the old driver, but we should not have to. It should simply ask for a password or the swipe.
     
  4. veritas72

    veritas72 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i cannot seem to get it to recognize the USH. all it says is::

    Checking current USH status.
    ERROR: Could not detect USH.

    In the BIOS, i Have the TPM checkbox selected, and deactivated selected. If I go into ETS, it shows the TPM as disabled. If I set the TPM as activated, I get the same error. Any help?
     
  5. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,613
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,515
    Likes Received:
    700
    Trophy Points:
    531
    If this relates to the firmware update, run ushupgrade.exe in the firmware folder. The batch file seems to have problems.

    John
     
  6. calanbalan

    calanbalan Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I got the exact same error. Been trying to get this to work since lunch today with no success. Well, actually the fingerprint reader decided to start working ONCE for no obvious reason at all just to never work again since. Also, Im not really sure whats going on but the Security Manager etc is running so slow for me I can barely use them at all, mostly they just lock up.

    Anyway, I ended up uninstalling everything. I need to hear some success stories on this before I try again. :)
     
  7. veritas72

    veritas72 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    @john -- i was running it from the .exe (the bat file does not work in x64). i've been trying different variations for hours.

    has anyone gotten this to install in vista x64? it strikes me as a little odd that it is the same exact file in 32 and 64 bit vista (i realize it is firmware, but the install .bat script is running 16-bit progs which will not run in vista).

    edit -- I got it to install under Caldera DR-DOS (from like 2003 or something). If anyone wants the 2 meg ISO to burn to a disk and run the bat inside, let me know, works like a charm.
     
  8. glentium

    glentium Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I tried running the exe, but I keep getting the message "The application has failed to restart because the application configuration is not correct. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem."

    I also have TPM enabled and deactivated. I redownloaded a couple of time but still the same error message..

    help is appreciated.

    UPDATE:
    Finally got it updated! I was having problem with a fresh XP SP3 install, no hotfixes, updates, .net blah blah. after I installed everything, got the exe working and successfully updated the firmware...
     
  9. Keslaa

    Keslaa Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    After dropping an XP SP3 image on an E6500, I get one nagging hardware bang in the device manager for something labelled "5880". It appears to be the Broadcom USH fingerprint reader and for the life of me I cannot get this system to recognize any driver for it. Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  10. hulsmsc

    hulsmsc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You need to install the control point security drivers.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page