Two Alienware M17x r2 Motherboards, same symptoms! :(

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by xxbeefydjxx, Feb 12, 2021.

1. xxbeefydjxx

xxbeefydjxx Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey folks,

Newbie here but am rather experienced in Hardware/IT in General. I hope you guys can help given I keep running into this area when googling things.

Strap in with ya fav beverage because this is a bit of a long one.

I got interested once again in buying spares and refurbing, and until now it's gone well with good profit margins, I started looking into these Alienware Laptops and thought it'd be a breeze. Boy was I wrong!

Good ol Dell Specs here mean I am now very well spent deep in a PC I quickly grew to love and hate despite it's age.

It was an upgraded unit, standard TFT 17" display, no webcam, 500GB Crucial SSD + 500GB HDD in bay 2, i7 720 and an AMD Radeon HD 7950m GPU. Pretty jamming machine, I thought.

Original listing on FleaBay said it simply wouldn't boot and display anything on screen, but the lights would come on the keyboard. So, I thought "Ah, probably GPU reflow will do".

I got the hefty thing delivered and straight away, GPU errors per the usual blinking lights.
    I had everything out on a test bench at this stage, and whilst testing, the first motherboard just suddenly shut off and would not turn on at all! Battery dead I assumed, plugged in PSU on it's own and still no juice. Disconnected GPU, RAM, all other parts except CPU and still no life.
    PSU is an original Flextronics chunky boy and the blue light remains lit when plugged into the motherboard, port has absolutely no play in it and did charge a battery until this happened, so I am assuming it simply can't be a cold solder joint but possibly BIOS or CPU Related.